Parsley, Rosemary, & Thyme…

The combination is so nice they made a song about it! 🙂 So I decided to make a soup incorporating this combination of flavors… it didn’t occur to me until I was finished preparing the soup, that the lyrics to the song are ♪ ‘parsley, sage, rosemary, & thyme’♪… so I put a dash of sage in at the end and it made the soup even better! Thanks Simon and Garfunkel! 😀

As you may know, tomorrow is Produce Wednesday, so I usually take stock of my produce and try to use up the stuff that seems to need it the most, so I can make room for tomorrow’s bounty. Most of my produce is doing quite well, but I did have 5 russet potatoes and more potatoes will be here tomorrow, so that seemed the likely choice. I had thought of making a minestrone, but 5 potatoes is a bit obnoxious for a minestrone, so I opted for potato soup.

As I was getting out the ingredients and trying to determine what spices I’d like to put into my potato soup the phrase, ‘parsley, rosemary, and thyme’ came to mind… sounds perfect. This is basically my Potato and Leek (or Onion) Soup but I changed the spices and a few other bits.

I used the carrot tops, or carrot greens, in the soup. Yes, you can eat carrot tops and they are nutritious too! [source] Parsley is nutritious as well [source]. So this soup is sooo much more than potatoes, carrots, and celery… once you add the ‘greens’, you add tons of nutrition! I added the greens in early because they can sometimes be a strong flavor and I didn’t want them to overpower the potatoes, feel free to add the greens at a later time to get a more robust flavor from them.

Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, & Thyme Potato Soup
by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Awesome

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • salt ( I did not measure, I add a pinch of salt with the onion, and then taste at the end )
  • 3-5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery with leaves, chopped
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • dried thyme leaves and rosemary ( I eyeballed it, about 1/2-1 tsp. of each )
  • 5 potatoes (~3 lbs.), scrubbed and skin left on, cubed ( I usually would use yukon gold, but this time I used russet )
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 1/2-2 tsp. better than bouillon, vegetable base
  • handful of parsley, chopped ( I use flat-leaf Italian parsley)
  • carrot tops (greens), if you have them
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk ( I used Silk soymilk )
  • 1/4 tsp. sage, adjust to taste
  1. Heat olive oil in a large pot over med-high heat, add onion and a pinch of salt. Simmer a few minutes then add garlic, simmer a few minutes more until onion starts to get translucent ( I am chopping the carrots while the onion is simmering )
  2. Chop then add, carrots, celery, thyme, rosemary, pepper, and about 1 cup water.
  3. Let simmer while cutting the potatoes, adding the potatoes as you cut them and more water as needed.
  4. Add remainder of water, better than bouillon, parsley and carrot tops cover and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 25-30 minutes.
  5. Once potatoes are tender, check spices (taste and adjust).
  6. Then remove some of the soup and use your blender or an immersion blender, blend until smooth, I like a few chunks of the vegetables throughout my soup, so I only blended 2 batches (~4 cups).
     
  7. Return blended soup back into the pot and bring to a boil.
  8. Reduce heat, add non-dairy milk and heat through, remove from heat.
  9. Add sage, if using, then serve.

I served this with some homemade pumpernickel bread (topped with some earth balance soy garden) …

Today was filled with more chores (more laundry, more dishes) and a nice stroll with ‘little-bit’. It was cold, but tomorrow is supposed to be in the 40’s (°F) so I plan to coordinate with my ‘taste-tester’ and go for a run. The forecast claims it’ll be 25-31°F windchill in the morning, so I’m looking forward to a ‘warmer’ run.
Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Parsley, Rosemary, & Thyme…

Leave a Reply

