Sunshine Therapy and French Toast…

Don’t let the picture fool you too much, it was windchill 15°F when I took it. I was wearing my heaviest, long winter coat, an inner jacket, a sweater, a scarf, gloves, a toque, and long johns, plus I had the hood up on my coat. But sitting there facing the sun, letting the dark coat absorb some warmth felt good. If I stayed perfectly still the hood of my coat blocked my face from getting any cold breeze and I could enjoy full-on sun in my face. We sat there maybe ten, blissful minutes. I felt a bit better.

I realize my posts lately have been me ranting and displaying my latest green smoothie, so I thought you might appreciate a break from that by returning to food. Ah, lovely food. Today I made french toast and raspberry syrup, heaven.

In my pre-vegan days, I was known in some parts of the country as a ‘French Toast Queen’. I not only could eat my fair share of french toast, but I was able to make really awesome french toast as well. So I was incredibly happy when I found this recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, p. 28) some time back. I’ve made this recipe several times and always with great success. I find it really cool that it uses chickpea flour, which I never would have thought to use on my own, yet it works perfectly. Don’t make that face, it doesn’t taste bean-y. It’s awesome! Fun fact, chickpea flour contains protein, fiber, and iron. 🙂

I also made a raspberry syrup, just made it up, actually. I was craving the flavored syrups you get at IHOP, and decided to heat up some maple syrup and raspberry jam. My raspberry jam consists of raspberries, grape juice, and fruit pectin. I didn’t measure, I eye-balled it, but it was probably 1/2-3/4 cup maple syrup and two big dollops of jam, brought to a simmer and allowed to reduce while I prepared the french toast. Amazing, you should try it.

French toast with a little dusting of powdered sugar, raspberry syrup, and orange juice…

It was a nice Sunday brunch… complete with sunshine therapy… how do you cope with the winter blues?
~nic

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Therapy and French Toast…

  1. Pingback: Snowed In Eats… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

