Accomplishments and Goals…


My birthday is coming up next week, it happens to fall in line when everyone else is taking a look back at the previous year and making goals for the coming year. I’m going to be the big three-eight… seriously, I don’t feel that old.

Anyway, I thought I’d take a look at the past year’s accomplishments and make a few goals for the coming year.

So, without further ado my accomplishments and goals…

2009 Accomplishments

Transitioned from a vegetarian to a vegan life-style
Created a blog to share my vegan journey
Switched over to cruelty-free products
Tried out cruelty-free hair color and also played with a blue/purple chunk

Started finding time to read novels
Began doing yoga again
Began walking again, 3 miles in a little over an hour
Started steps towards becoming a runner
Walked/jogged 2 miles in a half hour! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tried countless new foods, both new recipes and new products
Tried several new kinds of produce and revisited old ones:

    cauliflower
    parsnips
    turnips
    eggplant
    garlic scapes
    dandelion greens
    beets
    boston lettuce
    purple peppers
    delicata squash
    kabocha
    arame
    dulse
    … just to name a few

Learned beginnings of Perl, PostgreSQL, Git, HTML, GIMP
Started a long-time desire to create a cookbook database program combining Perl and PostgreSQL using Git for versioning

Learned a bit about and played with my camera

Goals for 2010

Learn Python and Qt
Transition cookbook database program to Python-Qt
Get RHCE certification

Take camera/photo-taking knowledge to the next level, perhaps get a new ‘better’ camera
Learn more GIMP

Be able to run 5k by Summer
Incorporate more yoga into my life, 3-4 times a week
Try to find a balance between learning/coding/working/exercising/playing/relaxing

Continue to try new foods; produce, recipes, and products
Continue to switch out conventional products for cruelty-free ones
Continue to strive to keep my family healthy and happy

Creating this list, I realized that my computer programming love has been set on the back burner for too long, I want to bring it back into the forefront.

How was your year of accomplishments? Any new goals for the coming year?
~nic

4 thoughts on “Accomplishments and Goals…

  1. Love your goals and accomplishments, Nic!
    I was working on my post for tomorrow b/c it’s huge and I was going to talk about things Ive accomplished and things I want to work more on. Love that you’ve already done it and the things you’ve shared!
    xoxox
    Merry Xmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

