Produce Day & Recipes Revisited…

This isn’t a wrap-up post, I remade these dishes making some changes, some minor, some not so much…


I was going to post my produce delivery yesterday, but I felt the urge to post an ode to my love instead…

And since I was feeling romantic, I decided to make a chocolate cake, magic chocolate cake.

The only minor change I made to this recipe was reducing the water in the frosting to 2 Tbsp instead of 3 1/2 Tbsp, and I got a much thicker frosting which more resembled store-bought frosting… mmmmm. I was also able to get a really close close-up shot now that I know about the macro function on my camera. πŸ˜‰

June 13, 2009



So, I wanted to show you the produce from yesterday’s delivery…

Yesterday’s organic bounty:

    Sweet Potatoes PA
    Broccoli PA
    Sweet White Turnips PA
    Green Beans FL
    White Mushrooms PA
    Baby Greens Mix PA
    Celery CA
    Fuji Apples WA
    Bananas SA
    Navel Oranges FL
    Red D’Anjou Pears WA
    Golden Pineapple SA
    Medjool Dates (* special order)

I didn’t change anything in the order except for the addition of medjool dates. πŸ™‚

Look at all those turnips! I decided to be a ‘grown up’ and get the turnips in my delivery, after all, the reason I started the delivery service was to introduce new produce into my life. I decided to make that turnip soup again, especially while the turnips were at their freshest… also I have plenty of that berberΓ© spice mixture left…

My minor changes were:

  • I had a bit more than a pound of turnips, so I did not add yukon gold potatoes this time.
  • I used 1 1/2 onions.
  • I didn’t have any ginger root, so I eye-balled some dried ground ginger.
  • I added a couple cloves of garlic, minced.
  • I didn’t have any leeks, so I used 3 stalks of celery with their leaves.
  • I added a small sweet potato, peeled and diced.
  • I did not add the chickpeas until after I blended the soup, so that none of the chickpeas would be blended.
  • I followed the directions this time and only blended 1 1/2 cups of the stew.
  • *side note: I realized just in time that I had gotten out the chipotle chili powder instead of the cayenne, so ignore that mistake in the photo.

November 25, 2009

While the turnip soup was simmering, and the cake was baking, I decided that this soup needed biscuits. I used the biscuit recipe from the pot pie post. My minor change was to add about 2 Tbsp more soy milk to the biscuit dough to make drop biscuits, I also ended up baking them about 6 minutes more to get them looking more golden brown.

November 25, 2009

And for my final recipe revisited in the last day and a half…

I decided to make the very recent cream of tomato soup, aka staple soup, again. I gave my ‘taste-tester’ the last of the soup for his lunch, then I was craving it… My changes were to incorporate the ‘optional’ ideas that I had, except the parsley because I still don’t have any on hand. It made a little bit more soup, so it was probably closer to my original 2-4 serving guesstimate. That first version only lasted me 3 servings…

December 15, 2009

Note that the current version of tomato soup is less creamy due to the addition of tomato sauce… if you like it creamy, feel free to add a bit more non-dairy milk. πŸ™‚

All of the recipe revisits turned out spectacular! I tend to be a tweaker, even on my own recipes, I seldom make the same recipe exactly as before… so here was a little insight into my experimentation. πŸ˜‰

DragonLance_Legends_Volume_2-War_of_the_TwinsI’m off to read, somehow my ‘taste-tester’ finished the current book we are reading… hey! I was sleeping, no fair! πŸ˜€
~nic

4 thoughts on “Produce Day & Recipes Revisited…

  1. Pingback: Yummy Bread (Pineapple or Olive) Version 2.0… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Celebrate with Cake! … | Photography by Nic

Leave a Reply

