‘Tis the Season for Soup…

Tomorrow is Produce Wednesday, so my supply of veggies is rather low. I do try to keep certain veggies around at all times, though. My staples, if you will. In fact, everything in this soup is something I usually have on hand, maybe I should call it Staple Soup. 😉

Most of my soups start with the usual suspects, my staples:

    onion
    garlic
    celery
    carrots
    and parsley (but I didn’t have any, this time)

I was in the mood for tomato soup and was thinking about how I should go about making it. I decided to make something similar to my homemade pasta sauce and add some soy milk to it.

As I was finishing up the soup I thought of a few other ingredients that would have done nicely in this soup, I have indicated those items by labeling them ‘optional’.

The soup took a little bit more than a half hour, but that is because it is my belief that canned tomatoes loose their ‘tin taste’ if given enough time to simmer. It turned out really well, so here’s what I did.

Keep in mind that my soup ‘recipes’ are really by look and feel, and a whole lot of tasting through out. The amounts are guesstimations and open to interpretation.

Oh, I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I find that better than bouillon vegetable base and amore tomato paste are the best things to have on hand, rather than having soup stock or a can of tomato paste, I use these items and I can use as much or as little as I’d like and they last a really long time.

Cream of Tomato Soup
by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Very Good

Serves: 2-4

    1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
    1/2 onion, diced
    2-4 garlic cloves, minced
    1 stalk celery with leaves, diced
    1 carrot, peeled and diced
    handful of parsley, chopped (optional)
    salt & pepper, to taste
    1 1/2-2 tsp. Italian seasoning, to taste
    1 bay leaf (optional)
    1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes in Italian seasonings
    ~14.5 oz water (I used the tomato can, to get all the seasonings)
    1 1/2-2 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base, to taste
    1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce (optional)
    1 Tbsp. tomato paste
    1 cup soy milk
  1. Heat oil in a soup pot over med-high heat. Add onions and a pinch of salt. Saute for about 3 minutes, then add garlic and saute a few minutes more.
  2. Add carrots and celery, and parsley, if using, and saute about 5 minutes more, until onions start to look a bit translucent.
  3. Add salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, and bay leaf, if using. Next add tomatoes, water, better than bouillon, and tomato sauce, if using. Cover and bring to a boil.
  4. Once boiling, reduce heat to a simmer and remove lid. Simmer 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. About 15 minutes in, taste for seasonings.
  5. After the soup has simmered 30 minutes… I added about a Tbsp of tomato paste to get a deeper tomato flavor (I didn’t think of the tomato sauce earlier, so it’s a judgment call).
  6. Using an immersion blender, blend most of the soup. I like to keep a few solid pieces out, but feel free to blend the whole thing. I find that using the cup that came with the immersion blender works best to make the soup very blended. If using a regular blender, let soup cool a bit and be very careful.
  7. Return soup to soup pan.
  8. Add soy milk and heat through, about 3 minutes more.
  9. Ladle out, and Enjoy!

Remember it’s about the process, feel free to adjust to your taste. My soy milk, Silk, has a bit of sweetness that I like, use a non-dairy milk that you like. Enjoy!
~nic

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season for Soup…

  1. Pingback: Produce Day & Recipes Revisited… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

