Gingerbread Waffles…

When I woke up yesterday, I wanted waffles. I thought I had bought some more of those hemp waffles from the freezer section at whole foods, but I must have just eyed them and walked on because they were not in my freezer. (I even double checked my receipt to see if I had forgotten them at the checkout counter, no I didn’t actually buy them. :?) So instead, I had cold cereal…

Why didn’t I make waffles yesterday? I was super hungry at the time and I didn’t really feel like cooking. Today, though, I decided to go ahead and make waffles, because I was still craving them. I have a few vegan cookbooks with some really great waffle recipes (Veganomicon, The Joy of Vegan Baking), but I remembered that I had recently bought Vegan Brunch, I was pretty sure there would be some good waffle recipes in there. I had heard such high praise for this cookbook, I just haven’t had much time to try out many recipes. I was thinking of something autumn-y, perhaps pumpkin, when I came across gingerbread waffles… I read over the ingredients, all of which I had on hand, and knew this was exactly what I was looking for.

I have noticed a kind of reverence towards all things Isa on various vegan/vegetarian websites, so I, too, do not want to upset the balance by posting a recipe from her book. I did however find this recipe online which claims it is “Courtesy of Isa Chandra Moskowitz”. So for this AWESOME gingerbread waffle recipe go here.

These waffles are great straight, if you ask me, but they are also great drizzled with a little bit of melted earth balance, maple syrup, and some pecans. 🙂

If you have some time this weekend, I highly suggest you make these waffles. More than likely you have all the ingredients on hand. 🙂
~nic

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Waffles…

  1. Pingback: German Apple Cake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

