Apple-Pear-Cranberry Compote…

I have two new purchases that I want to tell you about…


First up, I finally bought myself a spiralizer! Yea! I’ve been thinking about getting one all summer long while reading various blogs and seeing such yummy zucchini spaghetti. I did not make that delicious looking zucchini spaghetti, but I did want to play with my new toy, so I thinly sliced into rings two apples and two pears and made a little fruit compote. Aren’t those little cores just adorable! Haha!
spiral sliced apples and pears

I basically used my signature apple sauce recipe, but instead of 5 apples I used two apples and then substituted in two pears and a handful of fresh cranberries. I also used a bit more maple syrup due to the cranberries being a bit sour. 😉
apple-pear-cranberry compote

The results were awesome! Very autumn, very yummy. It went great on these hemp seed waffles. It was also great on toast.
apple-pear-cranberry compote over waffles

My other purchase was from lululemon, the other day when I went out walk/jogging in the cold and rain, my pants leg kept getting under my shoe also I was a bit cold and was keenly aware that I was going to need some better winter athletic wear if I was going to continue doing outside activities in late autumn and winter for project snow (Go check out Angela’s site Oh She Glows for more info ;)). So I checked out some ideas online from lululemon then decided to see if there was one near me, and yea there is. So I went this afternoon and tried on the things I was going to order online, I’m so glad I did because I actually wear a size smaller than I thought. Yea Me! I’ve been on cloud nine ever since! 🙂 Here’s what I purchased…

The top is soooo cool, it has cuffins with thumbholes for your cold fingers, basically the cuff wraps around so that you can wear it like a mitten. Also the hood has a little hole for your ponytail! And best of all, the zipper is off-set to keep abrasion away from your face, I love this top, I can’t wait to wear it, it’s currently in the washing machine! 😀 The pants have an inner lining that I think will keep me quite warm this winter, and the scrunched up pants legs should help with the pants not going under my shoe. I’m very happy with my purchase… too bad it’s supposed to be in the 70s tomorrow… actually I’m glad the weather will be nice, but it also means I’ll have to wait to wear my new outfit. Winter will be here soon enough, no need rushing it!
(*fyi, that is not me in the picture, it is from the lululemon website 😉 )

And what day would be complete without a little geese photo session…
geese

geese

geese

geese


Operation Exercise

    running-symbol

  • Nov 14 – 3.1 miles walk/jog (1:08)

Hope you had a great day!
~nic

6 thoughts on “Apple-Pear-Cranberry Compote…

  1. The spiralizer looks like fun. And the outfit looks uper comfy.

    Guess what!!! I’ve decided to give up meat! It’s hard to do since there is meat on EVERYTHING!

    • Aimee – Yea! Let me know if you need any advise, help or otherwise. Yea, yea, yea! 😀
      My biggest advise is to transition slowly and to focus on what you can have verses what you can’t have. I had a feeling that you were pretty close, I’m so glad you’ve made the decision to switch. Let me know how I can help. 🙂

      The spiralizer is fun! And the outfit is really soft, can’t wait to wear it! Soon, the temperatures are starting to drop. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Look what came in the mail today… Glo Bars! « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Zucchini Noodles… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

