Parsnips…

I mentioned before that my friend moved and gave me all her produce. Within the bounty of goods that she gave me, were three parsnips. I’d never had parsnips, that I’m aware of, and inquired what they tasted like. She said they were similar to carrots. Parsnips, if you don’t know, look like white carrots. After checking out the web, most sites agree that parsnips can be cooked in any way you like.

So, a few days later when I was going through my produce to make stir-fry, I decided I’d add the parsnips too. I love stir-fry and soup because they are so forgiving. You can add just about anything and make really good food. Both soup and stir-fry are more about the method than the ingredients, so I tend to make one or the other when I’m needing to use up some produce.

I tasted the parsnips as I was cutting them up, I found that they were both more bitter and more sweet than a carrot. Once cooked, they softened up, soaked up some of the juices they were cooking in and became sweet and tasty.

Here’s what I had on hand and decided to throw into my stir-fry… it came out awesome! Thanks for the produce, Aimee!
stir-fry

From my friend Aimee:

  • 3 carrots, peeled and sliced on the diagonal
  • 3 parsnips, peeled and sliced on the diagonal
  • celery, sliced on the diagonal… I used the leafy bits too
  • 3 small green peppers, thinly sliced
  • 1 yellow pepper, thinly sliced

What I had on hand:

  • onion, cut into wedges
  • garlic, minced
  • romaine (most of the head, mostly hearts), roughly chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 red peppers, thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • mushroom stock
  • aji-mirin
  • tamari
  • Annie’s naturals lime baja marinade
  • Annie’s naturals spicy ginger marinade
  • arrowroot
  • peanuts
  • brown jasmine rice
  1. Start water and cook jasmine rice according to package directions, my rice tends to take 50 minutes.
  2. Heat olive oil over med-high heat in a wok. Add onions, garlic, salt & pepper. Cook for about 5 minutes until onions start to get translucent. Add a splash of mushroom stock to keep onion from browning and getting burnt, reduce heat, add ginger and simmer.
  3. Meanwhile, cut and add vegetables to wok, stirring between additions. Add vegetables in the order of amount of cooking time from longest to shortest. For example… carrots, parsnips, celery… bell peppers… then romaine last. Throughout the vegetable additions, add splashes of aji-marin, tamari, lime baja, and spicy ginger marinades.
  4. If you have lots of liquid, you can either add arrowroot (or cornstarch) to thicken the sauce or turn up the heat to reduce the liquid content, or both.
  5. When the rice is done and the vegetables are crisp-tender or to your liking, check the seasonings and thicken the sauce.
  6. Serve stir-fry over a bed of rice. Top with peanuts. I served it with Thai spring rolls on the side. Enjoy.

stir-fry over rice with Thai spring rolls

The cute spider place mats were a gift from my MIL, Thanks!
~nic

5 thoughts on “Parsnips…

  1. Pingback: Ever wonder if the universe is trying to tell you something? « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

