Cream of Barley Soup…

Remember those huge leeks I had from Produce Wednesday?

Well, I used them up in this delicious soup from Vegetable Soups From Deborah Madison’s Kitchen (p. 106), called Cream of Barley Soup with whole barley, leeks, and mushrooms.

The soup was a bit labor intensive, but the result (IMO) was gourmet. The cookbook is ovo-lacto vegetarian, so I had to veganize the recipe. Mostly, I used earth balance instead of butter and I used a splash of soy milk instead of sour cream. Otherwise, no worries.

Things I would change, though, would be instead of boiling the second set of leeks that are cut lengthwise and used as a sort of garnish. I think I would have preferred them cut into half moons or else made crispy by frying or baking. Because I had some of those long slivers make their way down my throat before I was ready and nearly choked, it was like spaghetti sometimes… so eat carefully! 😉

cream of barley soup

Enjoy
~nic

6 thoughts on “Cream of Barley Soup…

  1. That soup looks so thick and good! The choking hazard leeks don’t so so good, though. I’m convinced that part of the reason I don’t eat potatoes very often is because I invariably end up semi plugging my throat with them (which I realize makes it sound like I inhale my food, but I swear I don’t) Hooray hazard free foods! 🙂 -Eve

    • Eve – The soup was thick and luscious, the first part of the soup (barley, onions, leek, carrot, garlic, olive oil, earth balance and spices) gets blended in the blender and then the second part (barley, leek, and shiitake mushrooms) is used as garnish. Lots of steps and lots of work, but totally worth it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kale & Cauliflower Soup, Plus Some Other Stuff… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

