Carrots and Apples – Iron-Chef-Style…

I used to watch Iron Chef Japan many years ago. Whenever I have lots of one particular piece of produce I like to see if I can make many different dishes that go together. I made 3 dishes using carrots and apples. 🙂

It didn’t occur to me that it was iron-chef-like until we were eating, but I thought it was a pretty cool thing. I was going through my produce, wanting to make sure I used up the ‘old stuff’ before using the ‘new stuff’. I had an excess of carrots, apples, and potatoes… here’s what I made…

I scrubbed some russet potatoes, rubbed them with canola oil, sprinkled them with kosher salt, and then roasted/baked them in a 400°F oven for about an hour…
baked potatoes

Also in the oven… I combined several maroon carrots (that I scrubbed well, but did not peel), an onion, a minced clove of garlic, one cubed apple (gala), olive oil, salt and pepper… which I roasted in the oven at the same time the potatoes were baking… 400°F for 40 minutes…
roasted veggies - before roast roasted veggies

Meanwhile, I made a brothy soup… consisting of marron carrots, celery, brown basmati rice, bay leaves, fresh thyme, water and better than bouillon vegetable base, salt & pepper… I added more water and vegetable base and seasonings to make it even more brothy…
brothy soup brothy-er soup brothy soup

I also made my signature homemade applesauce, except this time I made it with lots-of-pulp orange juice for the liquid base and 1/2 a lemon for the citrus… I also used arrowroot instead of cornstarch…
homemade apple sauce

The roasted veggies paired well on top of the baked potato, the brothy soup, and apple sauce made a delightful dinner, iron-chef style…
iron-che-style dinner with carrots and apples

2 thoughts on “Carrots and Apples – Iron-Chef-Style…

Leave a Reply

