The Headache From Hell…

squirrelThe last few days have been far from fun. 😕 It all started Tuesday with a headache and nausea, which I talked about in my last post on Thursday. Later Thursday evening, things got worse. My headache intensified rather than waned. It was now, not only my forehead and behind my eyes, but also down the back of my head to my neck and shoulders. For the past several years anytime I get a headache I’ve been able to reduce it with food, it’s been a signal to me that I’m missing something. In fact, my go-to headache remedy is raisins, peanuts, and chocolate chips. The iron in the raisins, the protein in the peanuts, the sugar/caffeine/endorphin-inducing of chocolate usually do the trick which is usually accompanied by a cup of hot comforting tea. That kind of treatment was not working for this headache. Keep in mind that while all my other symptoms would present themselves and then leave, the headache never left. By late Thursday evening, my ‘taste-tester’ and I were discussing what medication he should run out and get for me. It had been some time since we’ve needed your basic Tylenol, so we didn’t have any in the house. I remembered that I used to take Excedrin migraine back in the day, wow was that really a decade ago?

Anyway, I was concerned about the amount of caffeine in the Excedrin now that I do not consume very much, which I’ve mentioned in a previous post (green tea is 5-10% the amount of caffeine in a cup of coffee… Excedrin is the amount of caffeine in a cup of coffee… so in essence >10 cups of green tea). My worry was that my reaction to caffeine withdraw is a migraine headache for 3 days… nice catch 22. So I asked him to get regular strength Tylenol.

Turns out, it was a giant mistake… I woke up 6 hours later not feeling any better, but actually feeling worse, now my headache was raging and my arm hurt from my shoulder to my hand internally like it was fatigued. Now I was miserable, I wanted to cry but knew it’d make my headache worse. I took another dose of Tylenol, because although my forehead headache was worse my neck and shoulders felt better, so it did do something, just not what I had hoped for. I also applied a cold damp washcloth on my shoulder and on my forehead covering my eyes and went back to sleep. Six hours later, I was still miserable. The cold damp washcloth did relieve my arm and shoulder, but the headache raged on. I gave in… please get me some Excedrin Migraine. In case you don’t know, Excedrin is basically Tylenol, Aspirin, and caffeine, but it is also a 24 hour medication, so if it doesn’t work, you’re screwed for 24 hours. I took it around 3:30pm yesterday, for all intents and purposes my headache is less, but not gone. I spent the majority of the day indoors wearing sunglasses because light hurt so much. We joked that I was a vampire. At least I still have my since of humor. 🙂

Today, I’m at least functional, and the ability to be in a room with light and being able to read is now doable. I have also gained back some of my appetite. I think when 3:30pm rolls around today, I will need to take another dose. 😕 My hope is that it doesn’t get unbearable before I can medicate.

So, Day 4 of the ‘headache from hell’… looking at life with the glass half-full… at least the other symptoms are gone. 🙂

Thanks again everyone for your get well wishes… If this is the ‘flu’, I hope that no one else has to endure the ‘headache from hell’… stay well everyone! 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Headache From Hell…

  1. Ugh, that sounds miiiiiserable. Unless you’ve had such horrible migraines before, I would put a vote in for going to get it checked out if it doesn’t go away. I think serious headaches are probably something you don’t want to ignore…. Feel better soon, I hope! 🙂 -Eve

    • Eve – I used to get migraines ages ago… I think this is just something that blew in, I was outside at the dog park Tuesday night and it was really windy, then a little bit later my symptoms started. I’m allergic to mold and dust, sometimes when it’s windy or rainy I get stomach upset, or it could be just a version of the flu, who knows… I’m feeling a bit better.

  2. Pingback: I’m ‘all in’… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Guilty Pleasures & a Praying Mantis… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

