Getting Better…

gir_saw_a_squirrelThank you to everyone who sent get well wishes. I’m feeling a little better, but not completely back to myself, yet. Not sure what I have… my symptoms started Tuesday night with a headache and nausea, but when I tried to go to bed early I was unable to sleep. My ‘taste-tester’ was working the late shift, so I curled up and watched hulu until he got home. I wasn’t hungry but thought some broth might help with the nausea. So I made a little quick soup with 5-min rice, veg broth, froz. sweet peas, parsley, green onion, and a little pepper. It made me feel a little better.

Wednesday I was faced with what felt like a giant gas bubble in my intestine, the headache which now felt more like a migraine, and my face and eyes felt really hot to me internally and felt better with a cold damp washcloth applied, but externally my ‘taste-tester’ said I was cold to the touch and he thought I was having chills. I also did not want anything to eat, still feeling nauseous but also the pain from the gas. So, I slept. I fixed that quick little soup two more times, it seemed to make me feel better, and over time the gas pain went away and the headache was a bit less. I also had hot tea a few times. Throughout the day the gas intestinal pain changed to pit of the stomach pain, but then it too went away. Only to be replaced with skin sensitivity, you know that weird ‘my skin hurts’ feeling you get when you have the flu. 😕 I didn’t nor do I have now, have the typical respiratory symptoms so I have no idea what I have.

Currently I still have the headache, but the stomach ache and the chills are gone. I still have a loss of appetite and my skin is sensitive. But all in all, much better.

I didn’t take pictures of my quick little soup, but Update: I took a picture… this one doesn’t have the green onion…
get better soup
here’s the recipe…

Nic’s Get Better Soup
2 cups water, boiling (microwave is awesome for this)
1-1 1/2 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base
1/4 cup 5-minute rice
1/4 cup frozen sweet peas
1 green onion, sliced
handful of chopped parsley
dash pepper

Boil water. Place rest of ingredients in a bowl large enough to hold 2 1/2 cups. Pour hot water over ingredients, stir. Let sit 5 minutes. Eat. 🙂

I learned recently that parsley is full of nutrients, I used to think it was just garnish. According to ‘Green for Life’ by Victoria Boutenko (p.34), parsley has calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese, selenium, vitamin c, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin b6, folate, vitamin a, vitamin e, and vitamin k. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Getting Better…

  1. Pingback: Flapjacks… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Angry Stomach… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Vegan MoFo: Survey… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

