Produce Wednesday & New Food Weekly Wrap-up

produce wednesday

Today’s organic bounty:

    Acorn Squash
    Bananas
    Red Bartlett Pears
    Broccoli
    Cantaloupe
    Eggplant
    Gala Apples
    Purple Peppers
    Rainbow Chard
    Red Seedless grapes
    Spinach
    Yukon Gold Potatoes

I know I said I was going to get my produce bi-weekly, but I was down to odds and ends and I couldn’t resist this week’s selection, I love rainbow chard and purple peppers. Also, last week’s red pears were awesome.

squirrel

New Food Weekly Wrap-up:

Did you try anything new this past week?
Here’s what I tried this week…


my first official 'green smoothie' - apple green smothie

my first official 'green smoothie' - apple green smothie

100% whole wheat bread vegan-ized and made into a sandwich loaf

100% whole wheat bread vegan-ized and made into a sandwich loaf

wild rice lettuce wraps

wild rice lettuce wraps

mango & kale 'green smoothie'

mango & kale 'green smoothie'

rainbow stir-fry on bed of rice topped with peanuts

rainbow stir-fry on bed of rice topped with peanuts

banana/berry/celery 'green smoothie'

banana/berry/celery 'green smoothie'

wild rice lettuce wrap in salad form with baja lime marinade and salsa

wild rice lettuce wrap in salad form with baja lime marinade and salsa

3 thoughts on “Produce Wednesday & New Food Weekly Wrap-up

  1. Wild rice lettuce wraps and the stir fry steal the show!!! But all that lovely produce. Sure beats the stuff I just bought, mine looks good, yours is off the hook looking!

    I left you a comment re applesauce in the vitamix. Maybe you deleted it LOL but basically I mentioned that although the slow cooker stovetop method is awesome, if you’re ever pressed for time, 2 apples, dash of agave, dash of cinnamon, 1 min in Vita = applesauce. Just thought I’d let you know I’m a cheater over here and that’s how i do it.

    xox
    ave

    • Averie – I didn’t delete it… you commented about the applesauce in the taco salad post. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But thanks for the idea. Do you like ginger? Because if you do, it’ll add a bit of zing to your apple sauce so would some citrus… if you want my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the produce kudos… it’s a local delivery service… I chose the small organic box… they do their best to buy locally… some of the stuff I get, like purple peppers, I haven’t seen at whole foods, plus it’s nice to know what’s in season… I didn’t eat seasonally until I started this delivery service back in June… it’s been fun to see what’s in season and it’s been very tasty having produce at it’s peek for a change. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My friend found some purple peppers at the farmer’s market this summer and gave me some and I think they are cool even though they don’t taste much different from yellow peppers… I went to the farmer’s market with ‘little-bit’ but they have signs everywhere saying dogs are not allowed… which totally sucks for me… So the delivery service on Wednesday is a tremendous help to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Laughing Gorillaโ€ฆ ยซ The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

