It was one of those days… but then it got better…

pineapple stir-fry - ingredients

My last post I mentioned that I was going to make a stir-fry with the pineapple I had on hand… you may recall that before I began that post that I had messed up making tea… it should have been a sign… *sigh*… I was missing two key ingredients to that stir-fry, but I didn’t realize how key they were until later, and my brain appears to have been elsewhere because then I burnt the stir-fry. I was able to salvage about 3/4ths of it. No worries, it was edible, and for the leftovers I added some brown jasmine rice and that did a nice job of covering up the mistakes I’m about to tell you about.

It started out just fine, so I didn’t have a lime or pineapple juice, it’ll be ok. My biggest mistake was too much tamari and not keeping my eye on it. I misread the instructions and instead of ‘stir-frying’ for 15 minutes (as in constant stirring) I covered the wok and walked away for 15 minutes… ummmm…. no, that’s not a good idea. I was actually in the kitchen, cleaning up, just letting it simmer and marry… when I lifted the lid, I was presented with burnt quinoa on the bottom of my wok…. oops. I carefully got the top layer of stir-fry out of the wok, and called it dinner. Without the extra sweetness from the missing pineapple juice and the zing from the lime, the stir-fry was, well, salty, to say the least. But with the addition of rice, the saltiness was tamed. I’m still giving this stir-fry an awesome, because I remember the last time I made it, it was amazing.

pineapple stir-fry

But that didn’t ruin my weekend. 😉 My ‘taste-tester’, ‘little-bit’, and I took a stroll near the water’s edge and had a great afternoon…

ducks and a goose…
ducks and a goose

‘little-bit’…
little-bit

more ducks and geese… check out that background, the leaves are already starting to turn!…
more ducks and geese - 1
more ducks and geese - 2

‘little-bit’ on the bridge…
little-bit on bridge

I focused in on the male duck here, I thought the blue stripe was pretty…
pretty male duck

sail-boat…. wonder what that dome-shaped building is ;)…
sailboat and domed building on horizon

‘little-bit’ all tuckered out….
tuckered little-bit

Here’s a different ‘green smoothie’ that I tried… it is 2 frozen bananas, 6-9 frozen strawberries, 11 oz zico coconut water, 1 stalk of celery….
green smoothie - ingredients - top view green smoothie - ingredients - side view

it needed a bit more sweetness, that celery turned out to be very strong… I added a splash of maple syrup and a handful of frozen blueberries…. better, I could still taste the celery, but it wasn’t too bad….
green smoothie - add blueberries green smoothie

Now for the awesome portion of this post…. my own stir-fry, following my own personalized method…

rainbow stir-fry

I didn’t take an ingredients picture because, I was in the create mode and just wanted to go with it. But here’s the recipe as I recall it… feel free to adjust and substitute out veggies, these are what I had on hand.

Rainbow Stir-fry
by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Awesome

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup brown jasmine rice
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • onion, cut in half then in thirds to make wedges
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • red bell pepper, chopped
  • handful of baby carrots, julienne
  • head of broccoli, florets cut into bit-size pieces, stem peeled and then sliced on the bias
  • baby bok choy, leaves removed from stems and cut chiffonade, stems sliced on the bias
  • 2 stalks of celery, sliced on the bias
  • 1 pkg baked smoked tofu, sliced
  • 2 portobello mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 cobs of corn, roasted, then removed from cob
  • aji-mirin
  • tamari
  • ginger marinade
  • baja lime marinade
  • cornstarch
  • peanuts
  1. Combine water and jasmine rice in a 2 quart pot with a lid, bring water to boiling, stir once. Replace lid, reduce heat to low, and simmer 50 minutes. (Or follow package directions) Meanwhile, prepare stir-fry.
  2. Heat olive oil in a wok at med-high heat, add onions, garlic and salt. Stir-fry a few minutes, until onion starts to become translucent.
  3. Add vegetables in order of cooking times, starting with items that take the longest first… add red pepper, carrots, broccoli stems, bok choy stems, and celery. Remember that I ‘cut and add’ throughout the cooking process. Let simmer 5-8 minutes.
  4. Add items that don’t need as long next… add smoked tofu, mushrooms, cook until mushrooms start to get tender, 3-5 minutes.
  5. Add items that need very little time last… add corn, broccoli florets, and bok choy leaves, also add a splash of aji-mirin, cover and cook until broccoli is bright green, 3-5 minutes
  6. For the sauce, add splashes of tamari, ginger marinade, lime marinade, and more aji-mirin, cover and simmer a few minutes more to allow flavors to marry. Taste and adjust.
  7. Then using the ‘cornstarch method’, add cornstarch to stir-fry and stir to coat the veggies with the now thicker sauce. Remove from heat.
  8. Serve stir-fry over a bed of rice, and top with peanuts. Enjoy.

rainbow stir-fry on bed of rice topped with peanuts

2 thoughts on “It was one of those days… but then it got better…

  1. Your stir fry’s, both of them, look amazing!!!!! You can cook for me anytime my dear! Whoa…love it! The brock and the peanuts. I want some now! You’re making me hungry, seriously! Glad the Vita smoothies are getting better for you too. It’s so fun to play and learn with the Vita, isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

