Produce Wednesday & New Food Weekly Wrap-up

produce wednesday

Today’s organic bounty:

    Corn
    Portabello Mushrooms
    Golden Pineapple
    Roma Tomatoes
    Broccoli
    Bananas
    Red D’Anjou Pears
    Black Plums
    Red Peppers
    Romaine Lettuce
    Gala Apples
    Celery

The corn was put in the oven, seconds after the photo was taken, for roasting. I made a green smoothie with some of the romaine, which I will talk about in just a few minutes. I have never tried a red pear that I am aware of, looking forward to that. I have a few ideas stirring in my noggin for most of the produce, which is awesome because some of that creativity got lost in previous weeks due to the stress to consume all the produce… I think the bi-weekly delivery is going to work out better for me.

So I bought Green Smoothie Revolution by Victoria Boutenko… I’ve been intrigued by the green smoothie craze, but found out the hard way that you can’t just put stuff willy-nilly in the blender… so after a few months recovery from such disasters, I bought this book. I was impressed by the research and all the information that is given in the first half of the book. I now feel that perhaps I need some more vitamin K in my diet for my sore wrists and occasional back aches… that being said, as gung-ho as I was feeling to run out and get kale and mangos, I decided to use what I had on hand, I mean the organic bounty had just arrived after all. So, I searched for recipes that included romaine lettuce. I found one that was romaine, apples, dates, cinnamon, and water… I have those items… cool.

I bought a vita-mix a month or two ago, but have primarily been using it to make my banana-berry chocolate smoothies, I haven’t really explored its awesomeness… so this was my first time to attempt some major chopping and blending. I went ahead and chopped the produce to help it out, I’m still figuring the machine out. I reduced the recipe to 1/4 because, if I didn’t like it, I didn’t want to waste all that wonderful produce. apple green smoothie - ingredients apple green smoothie - ingredientsBut by using such a small amount of food in the vita-mix, well, it didn’t like me much. So I scrapped down the sides and added a bit more water, much better. Ok, I’m new at this, please tell me what your thoughts are… I am almost positive that this is all in my head, but when I removed the cap on the blender to scrape it down I felt a bit of a pang in my stomach… like a small bit of nausea just before the dizziness… I ignored it and continued… the smoothie was good, but I had a craving for maple syrup, so in trying to keep it raw, I added a squirt of agave… it was ok, but a far cry from my favorite ‘banana-berry chocolate smoothie’, so I thought that even though this recipe was in the ‘beginner smoothies’ that maybe I should have tried one more creamy, like kale and banana (which was the author’s first smoothie). I checked out the index and found that there was a recipe that had banana, romaine, apples, and cinnamon… so I added about 1/2 a frozen banana… the banana taste kinda took over, that ripe banana taste that’s great for bread and cake, but not so much for smoothies… I decided to stop dorking with it, and just to drink the damn thing. apple green smoothieIt made a little over 8 oz, I was able to drink about half before I called it quits. I think next time I will reduce the lettuce. The thing that drives me nuts, is that I like all the ingredients! Has anyone else jumped on the green smoothie wagon, if so, what was the first smoothie you tried that made you say, “wow!” ?


I have a few things that still need to get done today, so I’m going to make this post short… for some of the new food I tried this week, check out a previous post, where I give a review of several items I tried that day.

2 thoughts on “Produce Wednesday & New Food Weekly Wrap-up

  1. girl if you wanted maple, you coulda woulda shoulda added maple. One of those things that nothing else was gonna make that smoothie work for you. Just saying, you should go for it if you want something 🙂

    Oh I have learned the hard way with $8 worth of produce in my vitamix that some things just dont work. Ever. I also have a $300 juicer in my cupboard that I am not into at the moment b/c the last time i juiced I ended up sick from really awful flavor combos so yeah, it’s best to start with ingredients you like and dont get too crazy til you’re sure. And then add the crazy stuff one at a time 🙂 That’s how I built up my confidence w/ both my smoothies and my vitamix using skills.

    • Averie – Thanks, your advice will be taken! And yeah, I should of used the maple and not the banana… but now I know to go with my gut, I do it for soups and other things that I ‘eyeball’ I don’t know why I treated this smoothie as something sacred… anyway…

      Have you tried a green smoothie? If so what’s your favorite combo, I should probably check your site before asking, huh?
      So what’s your favorite green smoothie combo?

      I bet that juice you are talking about was the watermelon rinds, right? Yeah, I was reading that thinking, oooh, my stomach hurts just thinking about it. 😛

Leave a Reply

