100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread…

I’ve been teasing you with my home-made bread promises, not on purpose, I swear… now I will fill you in on the yumminess that is home-made bread.

100% whole wheat sandwich bread - cooling on rack

You may remember that I am a big advocate of Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day (ABin5), and I still am, but I have a renewed zest for this method. Recently one of the authors of this fabulous book blogged about sandwich bread, yea! My ‘taste-tester’ has been missing being able to toast up some bread and throwing jam on it, but no longer! I’ve been devouring this bread slathered with sunflower seed butter, thanks Averie!

The method to make the dough is the same, the difference is the method of baking, and the amount of dough you use at one time… Usually you can get four 1-lb loaves of ‘crusty bread’ out of one batch of dough, but with this new ‘sandwich bread’ method, you get two 2-lb loaves of ‘sandwich bread’ out of one batch of dough. The author says it all best on their blog… but I have vegan-ized the dough, so I will post what I did here, which was just a matter of some substitutions.

Oh, and to toot my own horn, my ‘taste-tester’ was very impressed… I was never able to get a bread this awesome, both in texture and taste from my bread maker (which I gave away after adopting this method, some months back). Bread from the bread maker was always very dense and had the misfortune of being deformed due to the stirring paddle. I am very happy with the breads I get from the ABin5 method. 😀

On a slightly different, but slightly same note, the authors of ABin5 have a new book coming out called, Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I’ve already pre-ordered it. It comes out Oct. 27. For those of you who are gluten-free, this book is going to cover some breads made with gluten-free flours… go check it out. And I guess I should reiterate that the majority of recipes in the current book are vegan (consisting of flour, yeast, salt, water, and seasonings), only the ‘enriched’ breads have dairy and egg, like brioche and challah… but I’ve successfully vegan-ized the brioche… it isn’t hard to just substitute out some of the ingredients.

100% whole wheat sandwich bread - sliced

100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread – Vegan-ized
slightly adapted from Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois

Rating: Awesome

    1 1/2 cups lukewarm water
    1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk ( I used Silk soymilk )
    1 1/2 Tbsp. yeast
    1 Tbsp. salt ( I use kosher )
    1/2 cup agave nectar
    1/4 cup canola oil, plus more for greasing the pan
    6 2/3 cups whole wheat flour
  1. Mix and rise dough as with other doughs, see my description in pictures, here.
  2. Weigh out, rise, and bake according to Zoe’s method, here.
  3. I kept my bread in a cake dome, I used a napkin to grab it, slice off some bread, and then returned it to the dome.
  4. It kept well for about 5 days, before I noticed it starting to dry out.

100% whole wheat sandwich bread - stored in cake dome

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread…

  1. Pingback: The schpeel, some tea, and some good food… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

