New Food Weekly Wrap-up

autumn benchI decided to switch my produce delivery to bi-weekly… I was getting pretty stressed out trying to keep up with all that produce… it might sound strange, but in order to make some dishes I had to get additional produce which then made my bounty grow… for instance, the eggplant pasta dish, I had eggplant, tomatoes and onion, but I had to go out and get zucchini and bell pepper. There’s only two of us and sometimes I don’t feel like cooking something extravagant, or he works late and doesn’t want something heavy just before bed, and then there is the occasional dinner out… so… I’m going to try every other week, and see how that goes. I chose the week that seems to have the interesting produce like eggplant and garlic scapes, as opposed to the week of potatoes and onions, etc.

But I did try out some new food this week, so here’s the wrap-up. Also, I’m still working on my cruelty-free product review… I hope it’ll live up to the build up.

squirrel

New Food Weekly Wrap-up:

Did you try anything new this past week?
Here’s what I tried this week…

Eden OrganicSauerkraut – Intense, Very Good

HengstenbergRed Cabbage with Apple – Slightly Sweet, Very Good

Annie’s NaturalsSpicy Ginger Marinade – Very Good

Newman’s Own Organics — Newman-O’s creme filled ginger cookies – Good, not sure the creamy filling goes with the crunchy cookie though

SunButter Natural — Sunflower Seed Spread – Mmmmm, If you like sunflower seeds, then you’ll love this! Great on bread or crackers.
(Update: I meant to say Thank You to Averie over at loves veggies and yoga for suggesting this great find. πŸ™‚ )

Better’n Peanut Butter — Chocolate – Oh Yeah!… I think this will do nicely as a ‘frosting’ for some brownies! Great on crackers or just *blush* straight off a spoon.

Udo’s Oil — 3.6.9. Blend – Good, I put it in my morning smoothie, I was worried that my smoothie would seem oily, but luckily I didn’t even notice I added this, which is great for a supplement. I need to figure out some other uses for this, any ideas?


Trying out new brands of sauerkraut and red cabbage, also trying out a new marinade…

roasted potatoes & veggies, red cabbage, sauerkraut, and green beans

roasted potatoes & veggies, red cabbage, sauerkraut, and green beans


Whole Foods currently has large pretzels in the bakery…

big pretzel and mustard

big pretzel and mustard


A revisit of a dish I had only made once before…

Rotelle with Mixed Summer-Vegetable Sauce w/ kalamata olives and pumpernickel bread

Rotelle with Mixed Summer-Vegetable Sauce w/ kalamata olives and pumpernickel bread


A different approach to roasting acorn squash that worked out splendidly…

roasted acorn squash, walnuts, cinnamon, maple syrup

roasted acorn squash, walnuts, cinnamon, maple syrup


First time trying out ‘red kale’, it is actually more intense than regular kale… but good…

romaine, red kale, carrots, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, organic goddess dressing salad

romaine, red kale, carrots, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, organic goddess dressing salad

3 thoughts on “New Food Weekly Wrap-up

  1. OMG thank you for pointing me to your blog. I’m poppin you in my googlereader AND thanks for the sunbuttah love shoutout πŸ™‚ That stuff rocks, doesnt it. I think I could eat a third of a jar without blinking, just off a tablespoon. I need to use a smidge of restraint with that stuff πŸ™‚

    And thanks for the blog roll add, you’re awesome. Doing the same for you right now πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Produce Wednesday and a New Food… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

