Simply Delicious…

I’ve been mulling over, contemplating, and having a running commentary in my head over the last week concerning the cruelty-free products I’ve been trying out, and how I’m going to present my review… I think it will end up being a long post, which means it’ll take some time to triple check the grammar, spelling, links, voice, and overall feel of the review… so in the meantime, I thought I’d post a little simple pleasure of a meal that I had last night. 🙂

I roasted an acorn squash, I’ve had mixed results with acorn squash in the past, I really like it stuffed and baked, but I didn’t like the roasting method where you put it in a water bath (cut side down) while cooking… to me it changed the texture and I didn’t like it. I was flipping through veganomicon and found directions for roasting it without the water bath. Cool.

So, cut an acorn squash in half, scoop out the seeds, then roast in a 400°F oven for 50 minutes on a greased cookie sheet, cut side down (I used the shallow broiling pan that came with the oven). Then cool cut side up. This I did, and then once cooled I just pulled the skin off and trimmed the ends. Then I cut it up into cubes. Now for the magic! I placed the cubes on a plate, added a few dabs of earth balance, a handful of walnuts, a dash of cinnamon, and a drizzle of maple syrup. Wow! I had originally made this size plate to *share* with my ‘taste-tester’, but one bite, and I realized there was no way I was going to be able to share. I made him his own plate! 😉
roasted acorn squash, walnuts, cinnamon, maple syrup

That was intended as a snack, but it somehow got me in the mood for more simple delights… so I made a quick salad. Torn romaine lettuce, torn red kale, quartered baby carrots, handful of sunflower seeds, handful of pumpkin seeds, dash of salt & pepper (because the seeds are unsalted), and a drizzle of Annie’s organic goddess dressing. Oh, and some Late July classic rich crackers on the side. Delicious!
romaine, red kale, carrots, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, organic goddess dressing salad

3 thoughts on “Simply Delicious…

  1. Pingback: Oh Giant Salads, I’ve Missed You!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

