I have a theory…

Upon becoming a vegetarian, I noticed something… dishes are insanely easy to clean! I remember having to use some harsh chemicals and metal cleaning pads to remove burnt-on, stuck-on food and to cut through grease… Want to know what I use now? I use Method dish soap and a dish cloth, that’s it. On occasion (read: once in a blue moon), I’ll make a paste with baking soda and water for anything that might have burnt on, that’s also what I use to clean the oven. If I’ve stir-fried something and the smell seems to linger, I’ll use a bit of vinegar. No really. I don’t have a need for metal pads, I don’t have a need to ‘soak it overnight’. My theory is that the blood and fat in meat are the reason for the need to use the harsh chemicals and metal pads.

What’s my point? Well, I think I can apply the same theory to beauty products. While my quest was mainly to pick up ‘cruelty-free’ products, I managed to score quite a few ‘no animal by-products’ items. My theory is that these beauty products don’t have to use harsh chemicals if they aren’t trying to ‘cut through’ animal by-products. Seriously, what chemical does it take to remove bees wax or petrolatum from your skin/hair?

I’ve never been one to buy into ‘no pain, no gain’… I’m more into baby steps, and ‘don’t worry, you’ll get there’ kind of philosophy… so it was out of character for me to try out so many new products at once… that being said, I’m glad I did try so many at once. I’ll give a proper review of the products in a few days, but in the meantime… I think that by trying out so many products at once, they worked out better than if I hadn’t…. see, I changed my makeup, face lotion, and face wash… so I wasn’t using say, petrolatum in my lotion, and then trying to clean it off with a gentler cleaner… also I changed my shampoo, conditioner, and hair gel… same idea. There are still a few conventional items in my beauty routine, but I’m much more stoked to swap those out real soon.

Yes, I am aware that petrolatum is not an animal by-product, my reasoning is that some things require harsh chemicals to clean. And that perhaps a ‘natural’ cleaner would not do a very good job at removing something that requires harsh chemicals to break it down. From my limited research, it looks like some of those ingredients, like petrolatum, are not in the new products that I am trying out.

It’s just a theory… but I for one am very happy with the choices I’ve been making.

'little-bit' at our personal 'rivendell'
I’ve mentioned before that I *love* autumn… here’s a photo I took last year of ‘little-bit’ at our personal ‘Rivendell’ (LOTR).

7 thoughts on “I have a theory…

  1. I think that’s a really good theory! Come to think of it, I do remember having problems washing my old deodorant off, etc. Weird!

    I haven’t tried the method products, but I would like to – they’re pretty ‘mainstream’, which is nice. I think that if more people caught on to how gross regular soap and stuff is, they would want to use vegan stuff anyways – I mean, which seems more cleansing, plants or animal by-products? Ew! I know for me, I also started to notice that my old soaps smelled super gross – like, some underlying unpleasant smell – lye, maybe? Very peculiar. Hooray vegan products! πŸ™‚
    -Eve

  2. Pingback: Cruelty-Free Products… The Review « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

