Autumn Is On Its Way!…

As I’ve mentioned before, autumn is my favorite season. What better way to kick it off than to start honoring Oktoberfest (I’m a week early, but I think it’ll be ok 😉 ). Oktoberfest this year is from September 18th – October 4th. My ‘taste-tester’ lived in Germany for 4.5 years and retained a *love* for sauerkraut, he likes to pair it with fried potatoes and onions. So every year around this time, I make German-esque type meals. Granted we don’t eat sausages or any other kind of meat, and it just so happens we don’t drink either, so no beer… but plenty of potatoes and onions, sauerkraut, red cabbage, pumpernickel bread, various mustards, and spaetzle (which is not vegan, but I found a vegan recipe online I’m thinking about trying out). I have never been to Germany but have accompanied my ‘taste-tester’ to many German restaurants over the years. Every year I search the web for some inspiration. One year I bought some vegan bratwurst… mistake… I’ve mentioned before that we don’t eat fake meat, well I should have stuck to that ideology, because they were awful (haha not offal – that’s more disgusting).

SpaghettieisMy ‘taste-tester’ showed me some photos he found on the web of Spaghettieis (sounds like: spaghetti ice), it brought him back… it might sound weird, but don’t worry, it’s vanilla ice cream with strawberry sauce just made to look like spaghetti. 😉 I think I can make this no problem. 😉

If anyone has any vegan ideas for Oktoberfest, I’d love to hear them! 🙂

My first homage to Oktoberfest was to try out a new sauerkraut and red cabbage. Normally I buy Gundelsheim, which we love, but I wanted to try some of the other brands/ regions. So I picked up….
Eden OrganicSauerkraut
HengstenbergRed Cabbage with Apple

Ok, I know that Eden Organic isn’t German, but I like the Eden Organic brand in general and wanted to give this a try.

So, my review? I suggest eating the red cabbage first because the sauerkraut is strong… in a good way. The red cabbage is really good, sweet, but not candy-sweet… if you like red cabbage, you’ll like this. 🙂 The Sauerkraut, was intense but good… very good with potatoes and onions…

Nice Segue… (haha not segway… what would I do without Google to check my definitions?)

I roasted some red fingerling potatoes (it looks like sausage, but trust me they are potatoes), onions, peppers, mushrooms, and smoked baked tofu (the house smelled amazing as it cooked!)… I liberally coated them with Annie’s Naturals – Spicy Ginger Marinade
potatoes, veggies, smoked tofu, and marinade - before roast

roasted in a 400°F oven for 40 minutes… I forgot the salt and pepper until after I roasted it, oops… ‘it’s still good, it’s still good!’(Homer Simpson)
roasted potatoes, veggies, and smoked tofu

I paired the roasted potatoes & veggies with sauerkraut, red cabbage, green beans, and pumpernickel bread (not pictured). Yum.
roasted potatoes & veggies, red cabbage, sauerkraut, and green beans

Oh, and before I forget…

Check out my Vegan Products I Use page, I’ve recently updated it to include the Cruelty-Free Products I use as well. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Autumn Is On Its Way!…

  1. It’s really funny how Bavarian always equals German in the USA. 🙂
    I really like your recipe for the roasted potatoes and I would never have thought you could get the Hengstenberg brand in the States. Can you imagine that I’ve never had Spaghettieis? Now I totally crave it!

  2. Pingback: The Quest For Cruelty-Free & Vegan Beauty Products Continues… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

