Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes…

Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes

While I have pizza-like food on the brain… I thought I’d post a meal I had sometime last week… remember that potato-kale soup?… well for ‘clean up’ night, I reheated the soup, made a salad, and made some focaccia with the olive oil dough…

Since I’ve been mentioning the olive oil dough quite a bit lately, I should probably tell you that I’ve been experimenting with the ratio of all-purpose flour and whole wheat pastry flour. So far I’ve swapped out 2 cups of the ww pastry flour for the ap flour with much success. If you are still confused about what I’m rambling on about… the olive oil dough is a dough from ‘Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day’ (ABin5) that I’ve posted about before (here and here) as a great way to have fresh-baked bread daily. The olive oil dough is basically the ‘master recipe’ plus olive oil and sugar. Go check out the authors’ site, and I highly recommend their book.

Olive Oil Dough from ABin5
slightly adapted by the auspicious squirrel
Rating: Awesome, Amazing
Makes four 1-pound loaves.

    2 3/4 cups water
    1/4 cup olive oil
    1 1/2 Tbsp. yeast
    1 1/2 Tbsp. salt
    1 Tbsp. sugar
    2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
    4 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

*Check out my previous post on how-to make the dough.*
Baking times and temperatures depend upon how you are using the dough, for a pizza/foccacia… a good starting point would be 450°F for 7-20 minutes, depending upon thickness of dough… check on it every 5 min or so for golden-ness. For a loaf of bread, like my pineapple or olive ‘yummy bread’… then a good starting point would be 450°F for 35 minutes. The dough is very versatile, experiment. πŸ˜‰

The focaccia I made was a slight twist on one I made awhile back after watching Everyday Italian some months ago called, Focaccia with Rosemary and Grapes.

Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes
by the auspicious squirrel
Rating: Very Good

    olive oil dough (or pizza dough)
    olive oil
    Kosher salt
    Fresh-cracked black pepper
    Herbs de Provence (or Italian Seasoning)
    Dried Minced Garlic (I used McCormick)
    Dried Chopped Onion (I used McCormick)
    red seedless grapes, cut in half
  1. Preheat the oven to 450°F.
  2. Roll dough out on a floured surface into a circular shape about 1/2 to 1/4 inch thick. Use enough flour to prevent the dough disk from sticking to the working board.
  3. Put some cornmeal on a pizza peel (or edge-less cookie sheet) and place the dough disk on the cornmeal… use enough cornmeal to allow the dough disk to slide around easily to prevent it from sticking to the peel and later the pizza stone.
  4. Brush olive oil on the top of the dough disk.
  5. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic, onion, and herbs.
  6. Scatter around some grapes cut-side down, gently pressing them into the dough.
  7. Slide dough disk onto hot pizza stone in the oven.
  8. Bake 7-20 minutes, checking every 5 min or so for golden-ness.
  9. Remove from oven, cut into slices, enjoy.

The salad is very simple… romaine lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, pistachios, and Italian herb vinaigrette. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes…

  1. I reacently read up a bit on that no knead method and I tried out a recipe. Who would have thought it works so well. Your focaccia looks super delicious!

  2. Pingback: Cleanup Night… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Pizza Stone Love… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

