Cooking Day… Results

cooking day

I mentioned in my last post that I would be cooking up a few dishes with the produce I had in my stash before tomorrow’s produce delivery… here’s what I came up with.

For the tomato I made Patate e Pomodori al Forno from Sara at Innocent Primate. I made a half batch, I really liked the almond meal topping as a substitute for parmesan.
patate e pomodori al forno

Patate e Pomodori al Forno – Rating: Very Good, will make again. 🙂


I steamed the green beans, yellow and zucchini squash with onions and garlic… then once served on the plate, I added salt, pepper, and a smidge of earth balance.
steamed veggies

Steamed Veggies – Rating: Very Good

patate e pomodori al forno & steamed veggies


I made Pflaumenkuchen from Mihl at Seitan Is My Motor with the plums.
pflaumenkuchen

pflaumenkuchen

Pflaumenkuchen – Rating: Very Good, will make again. 🙂


As I mentioned before (in my last post), the green pepper topped a baked russet potato… I sautéed the peppers with onion, garlic and basil. The baked potato was cut in half then topped with a smidge of earth balance, salt, pepper, chipotle chili powder, black beans, and then the pepper/onion sauté.
baked potato with peppers and onions

Baked Potato with Peppers and Onions – Rating: Very Good, Old Favorite


The cucumbers found themselves in a salad… romaine lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, pistachios, and balsamic vinaigrette.
simple salad

Simple Salad – Rating: Good

We ate the dishes in four courses throughout the day… they were all delicious! 🙂

I baked the sweet potato while I was baking the russets… once baked and cooled, I peeled the skin and put them in a storage container and then in the fridge… they should heat up very quickly and nicely in the microwave and I will put a bit of earth balance on them.

Some of the watermelon was eaten early in the day while I cooked. The bananas were peeled and put in the freezer to be used in a future cake, bread, smoothie, or ice cream. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Cooking Day… Results

  1. Oh yeah! You’re patate looks fabulous! I’m so glad you liked it!!! I was pleased with the veganized version as well – and when in doubt, add almond meal 😉

    Yeah, Mihl’s pflaumenkuchen looks fabulous as well!! Everything from Mihl is fabulous!

  2. Pingback: Parsley, Rosemary, & Thyme… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

