Pretty Flowers…

I post a lot about food and decided I’d take a little detour today and talk about nature. I’ve never really had a green thumb, so I am especially proud of myself this year for my little flower pots.

In the spring, on a whim, I decided to just go nuts with the seed packet. The seed packet was from last year so I didn’t know if any of the seeds would even take, so I thought what the heck, I sprinkled copious amounts of seeds into several pots of dirt like I was seasoning soup with salt. To my surprise, most of the seeds took, so for a while there was a power struggle going on in my little pots… I decided to transplant the little seedlings from several round pots to two rectangular ones… I also got more potting soil. Then things really started happening! Wow, I actually have flowers! Oddly I am unable to find any of the early pictures, although I thought I took some… anyway… here’s my little stint as a flower gardener in pictures… enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚

*Note: The rosemary is from last year (wow, never been able to do that before!), I bought it as a healthy herb for cooking (i.e. not from seed)… how it survived this…

March 02, 2009

March 02, 2009

…. I’ll never know. But I’m glad because it is tasty!

July 08, 2009

July 08, 2009

July 31, 2009

July 31, 2009

*Note: The basil is also a plant that I bought early in the spring (after I planted the seeds), my basil usually gets spindly and then dies, so this is the first time I’ve had a hearty looking basil that lends herbs for more than a couple of dishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

July 31, 2009

July 31, 2009

*Note: The pink flower all by its lonesome, is a flower I ‘saved’ from getting mowed down… it was all by itself in a patch of grass, so I took my keys and dug around it hoping not to damage the roots, then took it to my place and gave it a home. Where it is thriving. ๐Ÿ™‚

July 31, 2009

July 31, 2009

Aug 08, 2009

Aug 08, 2009

Aug 08, 2009

Aug 08, 2009

Aug 20, 2009

Aug 20, 2009

Aug 20, 2009

Aug 20, 2009

Aug 29, 2009

Aug 29, 2009

Aug 29, 2009

Aug 29, 2009

Leave a Reply

