Potato & Kale Soup…

Ok, so maybe I’m just a soup fanatic, but… I was in the mood for another soup… I initially made this soup some time ago and labelled it “Awesome”, the print out that I have doesn’t have the source, though. So, I googled it and came across a contender, the recipe is verbatim, but the site isn’t one I usually frequent… anyway, I made this soup again and wanted to share it’s awesome-ness. šŸ™‚

potato kale soup - ingredients

Italian Bean and Potato Soup with Kale
from cooking cache

Rating: Awesome

    Some suggestions:
    add carrots
    add celery
    add parsley
    add extra cup of water
    Instead of vegetable broth, I used 1 -2 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base with 14.5 oz. water

    This version:
    add celery
    add parsley
    omit bell pepper – because I didn’t have one
    extra potatoes – because I had many
    add extra cup of water
    Instead of vegetable broth, I used 1 -2 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base with 14.5 oz. water

I used a potato masher to mash the can of beans, then I added these mashed beans to the soup using a technique very similar to the ‘cornstarch method‘…
potato kale soup - before mashed beans
The mashed beans make the soup more creamy…
potato kale soup - after mashed beans

Here’s the soup 10 minutes after kale and parsley have been added… the potatoes needed a bit longer, though… Check out how green that kale is!potato kale soup - potatoes not quite finished, but kale is GREEN!

Potatoes, perfection…
potato kale soup

One thought on “Potato & Kale Soup…

  1. Pingback: Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

