Ice Cream…

I recently purchased an electric ice cream maker. I am and was so excited to get this great gadget. Ice cream in 20 – 25 minutes. I’ve already made 3 different batches of vegan ice cream, and thought I’d share my experience…

banana split ice cream

The first recipe I tried, the day after getting the ice cream maker, ( I waited a day so that the ice cream bowl could freeze over night. That was a looooong night. 😉 ) was a banana ice cream from the cookbook, Vice Cream. Being the impatient one that I am… ( to a folly ) I went ahead and mixed up the ingredients and started the machine. Some of the ingredients were frozen (banana and strawberries) so I figured it was cold enough to start. Now that I’ve made two other batches from two other authors, I believe I rushed my first batch. While it was tasty, it didn’t have the ice cream mouth-feel I was hoping for, again I blame myself. I will have to try another recipe from that cookbook and let you know. For the banana ice cream, I used frozen bananas, I also added frozen strawberries and chocolate chips. I also drizzled in some chocolate sauce ( melted chocolate chips w/ small amount of soy milk) while the ice cream machine was churning, it tasted like a mixed up banana split, yummy.

chocolate peanut ice cream

For my next endeavor, I tried a recipe from seitan is my motor called Chocolate Peanut Brittle Ice Cream. WOW! This I did properly, and was greatly rewarded. After mixing the ingredients, this was like a wonderful rich chocolate pudding/mousse… mmmmmmm. I controlled myself and let it cool overnight. The next day, I put the chocolate pudding in the ice cream maker and after 12 minutes I added salted roasted peanuts, heavenly. I made a few minor changes, I used 5.5 oz of coconut milk ( the amount in a small can ) and then reduced the soy milk accordingly. I did not have peanut brittle, so I used salted roasted nuts. I think, but I’m not positive, that I put in an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder. Also I used melted chocolate chips because I did not have ‘chocolate spread’. I also forgot the vanilla, oops. Ok, so maybe I didn’t do this so ‘properly’, but I did follow the directions on cooling and such… But this made the most rich and creamy chocolate pudding/ ice cream I’ve ever had. This one is by far my favorite of the three I’ve made. And each day that it was able to ‘cure’ in the freezer the better it got. ( *Side note: I was unable to find the actual cooking term for ice cream getting harder in the freezer, ‘to cure’ something is usually used for cement… but you get the idea, right?)

pina colada frozen yogurt

My third ice cream attempt, so far, is actually a frozen yogurt. I got the recipe from innocent primate, it’s called Piña Colada Frozen Yogurt. I couldn’t wait to run out and get some yogurt for this one! I used 4 containers of yogurt so that the frozen yogurt would be closer to 1 quart. I also used canned crushed pineapple. After about 12 minutes in the ice cream maker, I added the crushed pineapple (drained) until it looked like enough. It was a little like soft serve, so I put it in the freezer to ‘cure’. You will need to let it soften a bit before serving, it freezes up hard. Taste? Amazing!

chocolate peanut ice cream - after two days of freezing

The chocolate one is my favorite, not only because it’s chocolate… but because it had the closest mouth-feel to dairy ice cream and because after two days in the freezer it was hard, but scoop-able. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream…

  1. I am glad you tried the recipe and it worked out for you! And thank you for reminding me of that frozen yoghurt recipe. It sounds delicious.

    • I’ve been craving your ice cream ever since I finished off the batch, I’m seriously going to make it again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

