Roasted Corn on the Cob…

corn on the cob - trimmed and rinsed

I usually boil my corn in sugar water and then slather it with earth balance, but never again. I found a better and more tasty way to prepare corn on the cob… roasting it in the oven!

I also usually kept my corn around for three days or so before I got around to cooking it. But I read recently that corn is best eaten as soon as possible, because the longer it sits around the more starchy it gets and the less taste it has.

So when I received corn on Produce Wednesday, I roasted it that day. It was AMAZING, I didn’t even put earth balance on it, I just ate it straight from the oven as soon as it was cool enough to handle.

corn on the cob - fresh from the oven

Roasted Corn on the Cob
idea from fat free vegan

Rating: Amazing

  1. Rinse and trim corn, but keep husks on.
  2. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  3. Put corn (in husk) directly on the rack, and roast for 30 minutes or until tender.
  4. When cool enough to handle. Peel husks back, the silks will come of easily (amazingly easily).
  5. Grab the peeled back husks, twist and pull to remove the husks in one chunk.
  6. Eat!

roasted corn on the cob

One thought on “Roasted Corn on the Cob…

  1. Pingback: Produce Wednesday & New Food Weekly Wrap-up « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

