Pantry Item… Panko

So I was looking for something to do with zucchini and heirloom tomatoes… one of my ‘go-to’ cookbooks is Veganomicon. I found a recipe for Greek-Style Tomato-Zucchini Fritters with Fresh Herbs, sounded good. I had some tomatoes that were getting ripe way too fast, some left-over firm tofu, and some zucchini begging to be eaten. πŸ™‚

zucchini fritters - ingredients

I am normally a ‘fry-o-phobe’ but I decided to try the frying version of this recipe anyway. I did take serious precautions though, I used a Dutch-oven… one because it is cast-iron, and two because it has high sides. I misunderstood the directions so the first three fritters I made did not have a bread-crumb coating. My pantry came to my rescue though… enter: Panko.

I did not want to use the ‘fresh’ bread crumbs that I had used inside the fritters, they seemed too moist for a fry coating. The panko was awesome! The fritters were much easier to handle, especially when I needed to flip them. The panko was a great addition to the fritters, they turned out golden and crispy.

zucchini fritters

I decided these fritters would go very well with spaghetti, and I was right. Greek-Style Tomato-Zucchini Fritters with Fresh Herbs, Rating: Awesome! πŸ™‚

zucchini fritters with pasta and veggies

Leave a Reply

