Pantry Item… Arame

'all the way arame' salad - veggies

Each week when I make a visit to Whole Foods, I try to grab a few new things to try, one week I grabbed arame, but then it sat in my pantry. When I did an inventory of my pantry last week, I came across it and decided arame would make it into the week’s ‘pantry raid‘.

What is Arame? In a word, Seaweed. I read that it was a milder seaweed than the nori sheets used for sushi. I like vegetarian/vegan sushi, so I thought I’d give arame a try. I hadn’t heard of arame until I read a post by Chocolate-Covered Katie [ http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com ], she had made ‘all the way arame’ salad out of it, so I thought that was a good place to start. 🙂

I followed Katie’s recipe…
'all the way arame' salad - ingredients

but rather than waiting a day ( impatient much?) I started eating it right away. But, it was too vinegar-y-vegetable-y… 😐 I thought maybe it needed a bit of sweet like coleslaw, so I added a splash of aji-marin. It still wasn’t what I wanted, so I added a splash of olive oil. Nope… next I added navy beans. Yeah, that’s better, also salt & pepper. I think perhaps I just wasn’t in a vegetable mood, because the beans were what made me happy. I ate about half and saved the rest for the next day.

'all the way arame' salad w/ navy beans

I told a friend about the salad, explaining that I just couldn’t put my finger on it, but I felt it was missing something. She suggested garlic, onion, or ginger, since it was an asian salad.

The next day, I added some leftover pasta noodles, thinking it would still be vinegar-y. The vinegar had calmed down and it was much better, perhaps too calm? I’m crazy, I know. Since it was cold and mostly raw, I didn’t want to add onion or garlic… instead I added a few pieces of pickled sushi ginger… better. I will continue to try out this recipe, I have plenty of arame left in the pantry. Sad thing is, I really don’t know how the arame actually tasted… I managed to cover it up with everything else. 😐

Definitely something I will try again. Any suggestions?

'all the way arame' salad w/ navy beans and pasta noodles

3 thoughts on “Pantry Item… Arame

      • I tried this salad again with a sushi twist, I’m calling it ‘open-faced sushi salad’… it will be a future post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

