Banana Bread…

I made banana bread for my friend a few weeks back… I was unhappy with the results. The top of the bread stayed gooey no matter how many times I put it back in the oven. There was a nice goldenness to the crust, but the toothpick kept coming out slightly wet. Once cut open, there was about 1/4 inch cooked followed by about 1 1/2 inch gooey followed by cooked. Not exactly what I was aiming for.

There are many factors, I believe, that were the cause of my unsuccessful bread making. First and foremost, I broke the cardinal role, I made a new recipe for someone else. Second, this was made for my friend’s husband, who is a die-hard meat-eater and dairy-lover, I was representing the entire vegan population with this one bread! (No pressure, right?) Third, and I think this one is also important, I might have rushed the process a bit in an attempt to get the bread to them that evening. Forth, I was making the bread at the same time I was preparing my dinner, so I wasn’t giving the bread my full attention. Baking is an art form as much as it is a science.

So, the bread went home with my friend with the top slightly gooey, but the lower layer edible. I was told later, by the meat-eater, that the bread was good. When I protested about the gooey part, he informed me that he just didn’t eat that part. I’m a perfectionist, I vowed to myself that I’d get that damn bread to work out properly.

Looking back on the recipe, I had a few ideas of how it might work better. Reduce the liquid and increase the cooking time. Here are my recent changes, it turned out pretty good! 🙂 I think there might be some more tweaking, but this is definitely an improvement!

banana bread - ingredients

Banana Bread – Perfecto
from Lickin’ the Beaters by Siue Moffat
slightly adapted by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Very Good

    3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
    3 tsp. baking powder
    1 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp. each: cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom
    1/2 cup pecan pieces

    1 cup maple syrup
    3 very ripe bananas, mashed
    1/2 cup apple sauce
    approx. 1/4 cup water (omitted)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and pecans.
  3. Mix maple syrup, mashed bananas, and apple sauce.
  4. Add wet to dry. (“Add more apple sauce / water as needed to make a batter that’s thicker than pancake but a little thinner than cookie batter.”)
  5. Pour into a lightly oiled (I used canola) loaf pan, bake for 45-50 min 1 hour and 5 minutes.
  6. Turn off oven, keep bread in oven as it cools.
  7. Remove bread from oven and loaf pan, continue to cool on rack.

That’s what I did to get this…
banana bread

banana bread

Any ideas of how to improve this recipe further? Let me know. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Banana Bread…

  1. Most banana bread recipes are way too sweet–it is bread not cake.
    I always reduce the sugar or sweetener on almost all baked goods. And cut soda and fruit juices with water or seltzer.
    But a banana bread with maple syrup–appeals to the New Englander in me. Will have to try this.

    • This is still a bit on the sweet side, so you may reduce the maple syrup to 3/4-1/2 cup. Maple syrup has a deeper, richer taste than sugar does, so hopefully this will be something you enjoy. Hope it works out for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

