Pantry Item… Buckwheat Flour

I specifically bought buckwheat flour to make pancakes… unfortunately I did not realize that I would also need corn flour and quinoa flour… Luckily, I did have the ingredients to make buckwheat waffles, which in my opinion is even better!

buckwheat waffle - ingredients

I made Buckwheat Waffles from Vegan Brunch and poured peach syrup over them, rating: Awesome. I also made Katie’s Mad Scramble – Italian style with zucchini and half a yellow heirloom tomato. (Thanks again, Katie, for a great recipe!)

For the peach syrup, I heated maple syrup in a small pot over medium heat. I added allspice, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Next I peeled and sliced a peach. I simmered this while making the waffles, the peaches still had a bit of a bite to them which was perfect. 🙂

buckwheat waffles, mad scramble, peach syrup

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been missing the nature photos… here’s a cute little guy who I think is responsible for some of the holes in my basil leaves. 🙂 I think he might be a Banded Tussock Moth.
Banded Tussock Moth

Leave a Reply

