Clean-up Night Part II (Pie)

As you may recall from my previous post, Clean-up Night Part I (Pasta), I still had peaches, nectarines, and blueberries that I wanted to ‘use up’…

For the peaches, nectarines, and blueberries I had intended to make a cobbler. But when the time came for me to start getting the ingredients out, I realized we had used up all the soy milk at breakfast, instead of running out to the store, I decided to improvise. I had some frozen pie crusts in the freezer, so I figured I’d make a pie. As you probably know by now, I tend to experiment in the kitchen… here’s what I did.

First, I pre-cooked one of the pie crusts in a 400°F oven for 5 minutes, per the package directions for a two crust pie. I used Whole Foods 365 Organic, Whole Wheat Pie Shells.

Next, I made the filling by following the cobbler recipe from The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

    4 peaches, peeled, and sliced
    2 nectarines, peeled and sliced
    1 pint (2 pkg.) blueberries, rinsed
    1/2 cup sugar
    2 Tbsp. unbleached all-purpose flour
    zest from 1/2 a lemon

It looked like a lot of filling… so I thought, hey, I could put a crunchy, oatmeal type topping on this, like a crisp, and make two ‘crisp-pies’.

peach, nectarine, blueberry pies before crisp topping

So, I put the second pie crust in the oven for 5 minutes and proceeded to make the crisp topping from The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

    1/2 cup kamut flakes (you could use rolled oats)
    2 Tbsp. brown sugar
    2 Tbsp. whole wheat pastry flour
    1/2 tsp. cinnamon
    1/8 tsp. allspice
    1/2 cup pecans, broken up into small pieces
    1/4 cup earth balance soy garden or margarine, softened

Next, I divided the filling between the two pie crusts, and then topped both with crisp topping.

peach, nectarine, blueberry crisp-pies

Baked in a 350°F oven for 35-40 minutes, until the topping was slightly golden.

peach, nectarine, blueberry crisp-pies baked

That night, I kid you not, we ate an entire pie between the two of us. It was that good. The next night, I had gone to the store and bought some vanilla ‘ice cream’ (coconut bliss) which we put on top of the crisp-pie, à la mode. It tasted even better! We had to control ourselves to not eat the entire pie again! 🙂

Rating: Awesome

peach, nectarine, blueberry crisp-pie a la mode

3 thoughts on “Clean-up Night Part II (Pie)

  1. Pingback: Cleanup Night… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: German Apple Cake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Cleanup Night… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

