Another idea for eggplant…

kibbeh ingredients

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, then you know that I am new to the preparation of eggplant. I’ve eaten eggplant parmesan, baba ganoush and the occasional pizza topped with eggplant, but those were at restaurants or already prepared at the grocery store. Since starting my organic produce deliveries though, I’ve gotten eggplant about three times, I made the first eggplant into Rotelle with Mixed Summer-Vegetable Sauce and the second eggplant into Ratatouille & Polenta Pot Pie with much success. I’m happy to report that my third endeavor with eggplant was also a success. 🙂

I made Chickpea and Eggplant Kibbeh from Vegan Planet. Kibbeh is a traditional Lebanese dish made with bulgur and beef or lamb. The dish I made was veganized by the book’s author Robin Robertson using eggplant, chickpeas, and bulgur. If you check out wikipedia on the subject, kibbeh is usually fried into torpedo-shaped stuffed balls. Well this dish was more of a casserole, and it was very tasty. 🙂

I’m about to age myself here, but the scent of this dish reminded me of something I’d had before. It was an unusual dish, but I liked it. It took me a bit to figure it out, then I remembered! When I was a kid I used to watch The Frugal Gourmet. We had a cookbook by him that had a recipe for stuffed onion leaves, if my memory serves me correctly it had cinnamon in the meat that was stuffed into the onion. The smell of the cooked sweet onion with the cinnamon, brought me back. I searched google and found a recipe for stuffed onion leaves by the frugal gourmet, it does indeed have allspice and cinnamon in it, yea sense of smell! 🙂 We didn’t have that dish very often, mom said it took to long to make, which was true of most of the recipes from The Frugal Gourmet, if I recall. Anyway, this vegan eggplant dish smells good, and tastes even better. 🙂

I paired it with a ‘salad’ of mixed greens and carrots with Annie’s Goddess Dressing and pumpernickel bread. The dressing complemented this dish nicely.

kibbeh and salad

kibbeh and salad

Chickpea and Eggplant KibbehVegan Planet by Robin Robertson. Rating: Very Good. – – – Leftover Test: Passed with flying colors!

I’d also like to mention that I’ve occasionally picked up beans from Eden Organic, and now I think I will try to buy them more often. Check out the ingredients, instead of salt they use kombu seaweed. Why is that significant? Well two things off the top of my head is low sodium and high in B vitamins. As you can see the eden brand is the clear winner over my previous progresso brand. (Note: If you didn’t already know, chickpeas and garbanzo beans are the same thing 😉 )

eden garbanzo beansprogresso chickpeas

2 thoughts on “Another idea for eggplant…

  1. Pingback: Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Lasagna!… (Part Two)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

