Dandelion Greens… and Dayglow Beets?

dandelion greens - ingredients

You may remember that I received dandelion greens in my produce box on Produce Wednesday… I decided to try a dish from The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen, my latest go-to cookbook, called Crostini with Puréed White Beans and Sautéed Wild Greens. I was prepared for the dandelion greens to be bitter, or so I thought. They were too bitter, in my opinion. At least for the dish I chose, perhaps if it is with something much stronger it would do better. Or maybe it would be better in a soup where the flavor can mellow out. Something other than what I prepared. On the bright side, we liked the beans, so dinner wasn’t ruined and it looked pretty. 🙂 I made a loaf of pumpernickel bread and added kalamata olives on the side.

crostini w/ white beans and dandelion greens, kalamata olives on the side

Dayglow beets?…

Yeah, I’m kinda weird. I figured anything from The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen should go together, right? Not exactly.

beet salad - ingredients

I chose another dish from this cookbook for the two beets I had on hand called Tunisian Beet Salad with Harissa. The recipe calls for 3 pounds of beets so I just eye-balled the ingredients. It turned out pretty good. I didn’t have harissa but the recipe said I could use red pepper flakes in a pinch. The recipe said to serve with couscous, I mixed them together and got the dayglow color… perhaps I should have just served the beet salad over the couscous. 😛

tunisian beet salad with harissa (actually red pepper flakes)

We decided that the two dishes didn’t quite go together, so we ate them like two separate courses.

dandelion greens, beets

Leave a Reply

