Ratatouille

ratatouille ingredients

While I was eschewing societal norms by staying in, cooking, and playing video games this 4th of July weekend, (hey, I am a computer geek 🙂 ) I decided to make Ratatouille. Did you see the movie Ratatouille? I did and have wondered ever since, what is that dish? It was time consuming, but it turned out great! And it’s another great use for eggplant!

I suggest making this dish on a day when you plan to stay in and hang out. It took me about 2 1/2 hours, but most of that time it was in the oven or just cooling on the stove.

I got the recipe from Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook, but it is also available online (see links below).
Ratatouille and Polenta Pot Pie
Basic Polenta

Rating: Very Good

Usually I consider recipes to be ‘guidelines’ or ‘suggestions’, but I didn’t venture to far from the original recipe this time. The changes I made were:

    28oz can of crushed tomatoes
    double concentrated tomato paste

So, my final dish is probably more tomato-y, but I like tomato-y!

Ratatouille just before the polenta topping

Ratatouille just before the polenta topping


polenta covered ratatouille

polenta covered ratatouille


ratatouille and polenta pot pie

ratatouille and polenta pot pie

Leave a Reply

