Science is Fun! (bread)

I’ve mentioned previously how much I love this technique for making bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. So I’m finally going to show you some of the process. How-to in pictures!

The ingredients here are for the Limpa Swedish Bread that I had in the dough bucket recently.
limpa ingredients
Limpa Swedish Bread is basically the Master Recipe plus a few extra ingredients…

Limpa Swedish Bread
adapted from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

  • 3 cups lukewarm water
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground anise seed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons granulated yeast
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons kosher or other coarse salt
  • (6 1/2) 5 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour [I used bread flour]
  • 1 cup of rye flour

The technique is the same for all of the breads that I’ve tried.

First I put 3 cups of water in my bucket and microwave it about 30 seconds and then check the temperature, I want it close but not over 100°F…
water temp

Next I mix everything but the flour(s)…
liquids mixed

Then I dump all the flour(s) onto the liquid ingredients, and mix well. I use my (wet) hands at the very end, to make sure all the flour is incorporated…
flour added

Here’s the dough mixed up before the 2 hour rise (at room temperature)…
before rise
before rise

Now for the science… yeast! It’s fun to watch it grow! Two hours later…
after rise
after rise

Then you can put the dough bucket w/ lid (not airtight) in the refrigerator for 1 to 2 weeks depending upon the recipe you use. I try to use any recipe up in 1 week, but that’s just me.

Then on baking day, you pull out some dough, shape & cloak it, then let it rise according to the specific recipe usually 40 minutes. (They describe this process so much better than me at the original site, ABin5, in video form too. It’s always nice to see a technique in action.) You can either free-form the dough or put it in a loaf pan. For the free-form you need to slash the bread a few times after the resting period, but before putting it in the oven.

Sometimes, I like to use a mini loaf pan…
dough rest for baking

About 40 minutes later…
after rest

Then bake. Limpa bread is 375°F for 40 minutes…
baked

And just to show some of the versatility…
bread baked in dutch oven roasted garlic & potato bread falafel pita pumpernickel bread Fresh Fruit Brioche Muffin with Chocolate Drizzle

Sometimes, I’m running low on time. So I make a flat bread, it takes the time to heat the oven to 450-500°F plus about 7 minutes. Instead of rolling out the dough for a pita, I just shape it in my hands like pizza dough so it’s a bit thicker than a pita and won’t make that nice pocket, just really good bread… perhaps it’s a focaccia, what ever it is it’s good.

Oh, and because I’m an organizational freak (read: anal-retentive), I like to mark the dough bucket with a few key notes: type of bread dough, how long to rest, oven temp, how long to bake, when I made the dough, and when it should be eaten by…
dough notes

2 thoughts on “Science is Fun! (bread)

  1. Pingback: Focaccia with Garlic, Onions, Herbs and Grapes… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: 100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

