Falafel w/ Roasted Veggies

falafel ingredients

I was listening to vegan.com’s ‘VegTalk – Oprah’s Vegan 21-Day Challenge‘ podcast a few weeks back. Being new to veganism myself, I hoped it would help my transition go a bit smoother and give me some tips. I really enjoyed Erik Marcus’s friendly and helpful podcasts. On ‘Day #13 – Convenience Foods’, he mentioned Fantastic Foods‘s Falafel mix, so I thought I’d give it a try. I have only had falafel from the freezer section, so I’m no authority on authenticity…

The box of falafel mix requires only water, cool. On the box there was also a recipe for a dipping sauce; yogurt (I used plain coconut milk yogurt), cucumber, dill, garlic, & lemon. I found the process easy and the falafel turned out really tasty with just a hint of jalapeño spice.
falafel mixfalafal - patties

I made a pita from my bucket of pumpernickel dough.
pumpernickel pita rolled out

I roasted some onion, red bell pepper, red potatoes, and zucchini.
roasted veggies ingredientsroasted veggies - before

I stuffed the pita with romaine, cucumber, tomato, dipping sauce and falafel patties.
falafel pita

Overall a very nice dinner.
falafel dinner

Leave a Reply

