Experimenting with smoothies… not all of them are keepers

blueberry-strawberry-pineapple smoothie

Blueberries, strawberries, pineapple… sounds good, right? Not so much. First of all, bright ideas are not always good ideas. I picked the soft cashews out of my stir-fry last night (see that blog here), I thought, ‘hey, these might make a good cashew milk because they have essentially been soaked in pineapple juice’. I’ve made cashew milk before, it was sweet and tasty. But I should have known better, I did not like those stir-fry softened cashews in the stir-fry, why I thought they’d be good in my morning smoothie is beyond me. So how can I fix this and redeem my chef status? I think the most important thing is to use cashews straight from the bag, perhaps soaked in water for a bit, but never should I use discards from last night’s dinner. Bad chef.

In the photo you will see that I used orange juice, cashews, spinach, blueberries, strawberries, pineapples, and a bit of maple syrup. I don’t think I even tasted the spinach, I used two handfuls of blueberries which covered up the green color with blue nicely. I also think I will add some fresh squeezed lime, which I did not have on hand this morning. Will have to try to improve this one soon, it has potential.
blueberry-strawberry-pineapple smoothie

Leave a Reply

