Fruit Kick…

I have been on a fruit kick ever since I went to the farmer’s market in June.

I don’t know if it was the realization that I was in a bit of a fruit rut (apples & bananas), or if it was the realization that since I’m in California I should embrace fruit in season (especially since the berry season seems to be longer here).

Maybe it was the great fruit straight from the farmer. Whatever it was, I’ve been getting me some fruit lovin’.

I’ve been eating berries, nectarines, watermelon… yum, yum, yum!

I don’t understand why fruit has been deemed a bad guy lately. Low-carb dieters tend to stay away from fruit and it confuses me.

Sure, fruit is a ‘carb’, and has a few calories, but in the overall scheme of things… fruit also has fiber and lots of vitamins. Can you say that about a diet soda?

I for one would rather have a plate of fruit than a soda any day.

Q: What’s your take? Fruit… good guy or bad guy?

Until next time…
~nic (aka Fruit Lover)

2 thoughts on “Fruit Kick…

  1. After years of denial for budget reasons I have decided that life is too short. I will eat blueberries, raspberries and strawberries whenever I want. And I will never again choke down another Lima bean or pea…Even if sitting next to the Queen of England.

    • Susan and Greta – That’s awesome! I love the way you state things… *grin* I’ve never been a fan of lima beans either. So glad that you are embracing berries now. If it helps any, it is my understanding that berries are high in antioxidants and vitamin C. In fact, according to this article, Health Benefits of Berries, berries are very beneficial and may help to prevent some forms of cancer, which in turn, means less medical bills. So if you think about it, you are saving money by eating berries. :D

Leave a Reply

