Experimenting…


Isn’t she a beaut?

It wasn’t so much my execution, as the delivery that has me wanting to do a ‘do-over’.

Now, don’t get me wrong, this is delicious! I just think it needs a bit more tweaking.

But I’m getting ahead of myself…
 
 

Originally, I was thinking of making a calzone with curry, potatoes, and peas.

Then I thought of a Samosa

Turns out a Samosa is the filling I was thinking of, except they are made with a crispy pastry, like phyllo, and usually deep fried. Sure I could bake mine, but it was the crispy pastry part that I wasn’t in the mood for, it wasn’t bread-y enough.

Then it occurred to me… I love pot pies! The crust is more what I have in mind.

Why don’t I make a curry pot pie?!
 
 

And so it begins…

I had several ideas of how and what I wanted.

For the sauce, I drew my inspiration from Katie’s Fall’s Favorite Curry, I think the curry sauce is awesome and thought I’d make a variation on it.

For the filling, I drew my inspiration from several sources: Samosa (Potato Stuffed Pastry), Vegan Green Curry Potato & Tofu Pot Pie, and two recipes from Taste of the East (Curried Potatoes p.11 and Quick Samosa Filling p.8).

Ultimately, I decided that I wanted to spend more time perfecting the sauce than chopping veggies. So I made my life a bit easier by getting some frozen foods, including a vegan pie crust.

For my ‘do-over’ I’d make this into two pies (requiring double the crust) or I’d divide the filling/sauce in half.

Curry Pot Pie
by nic – the auspicious squirrel

Yields: 1 very deep dish pot pie

Sauce:

☀ 1 can (13.66 oz) coconut milk
☀ 1/2 can water
☀ 1 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base
☀ 2 Tbsp. double concentrate tomato paste
☀ 2 Tbsp. curry powder
☀ 1 tsp. garlic powder
☀ 1 tsp. mustard powder
☀ salt & pepper, to taste
☀ splash soy sauce, to taste
☀ splash or two aji-marin, to taste
☀ 2 tsp. arrow root powder

Filling:

☀ 1 bag (28 oz) potatoes o’brien, I used Ore Ida
☀ several baby carrots (about 2 reg. carrots), sliced
☀ 1 bag (10 oz) frozen peas
☀ 1/4 cup cilantro, choppped
☀ 1 pkg (6 oz) baked tofu, sliced, I used Wild Wood, Savory flavor
☀ 1/4 lemon

Crust:

☀ 1 pkg (2 pie crusts) vegan pie crust, I used Wholly Wholesome

The crust calls for letting it thaw on the counter for 3 hours, I also put the potatoes o’brien in the refrigerator during this time.

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

In a saucepan, combine the coconut milk and water. Whisk in the vegetable base, tomato paste, curry powder, garlic powder, mustard powder, salt & pepper, soy sauce, and aji-marin. Taste and adjust seasonings. For saltier add more soy sauce, for sweeter add more aji-marin. Whisk in arrow root. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer while preparing the filling. Whisking often.

 

Place one pie crust on the bottom of a pie pan (or casserole dish), prick with a fork. Cook bottom crust in oven for about 15 minutes, checking on it every 5 minutes. You may need to prick with a fork again to remove puffing. Remove from heat, and set aside.

 

** It will help with the cooking process if the frozen items are thawed. You can use the microwave at low temperatures/times. **

In a large bowl, combine potatoes o’brien, carrots, peas, cilantro, and baked tofu. Squeeze lemon over veggies.

 

Stir in curry sauce.

 

Pour mixture into pie pan.

 

Top with pie crust, cut slits in the top.

 

You may need a cookie sheet with tin foil underneath to catch sauce drippings. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until crust is golden brown and potatoes are done.

Take pot pie out of oven and let rest 10 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

 

This was so good we went back for seconds! :) It was a bit messy, but so good. The crust was slightly sweet which went well with the curry sauce. When I mentioned that making it into two pies would be more crust, my taste-tester said more crust sounded good to him. :)

I think this one is a keeper… now to just perfect the delivery. ;)

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Experimenting…

  1. Nice little creation you made! I am not a fan of curry or pot pie but this definitely looks interesting and even better is that you all can nosh on this for a few days.

Leave a Reply

