Ginormous…

What do you do when you’re not sure where to start?

You look to your muse…

I took Little-bit to the beach today… of all the days to go, today was probably not the greatest choice. While the rest of the country has been melting, around here it’s been fairly cool. Most days haven’t gotten above 75°F. In fact, the last three days’ highs were 68°F. heh…

Today, it got up to 85°F (feels like 92°F)… so I had a few obstacles.

  • One, I don’t know the area, so I had no idea where I could park or how all that works.
  • Two, everyone and their brother was out today, presumably because today was ‘typical’ San Diego weather… I’ve been enjoying the ‘winter’ weather, personally.
  • Three, I wasn’t wearing summer attire, I had on jeans and a t-shirt, not shorts or a bathing suit.
  • Four, the sand was too hot for Little-bits paws… seconds after touching the hot sand he dropped down so that the sand was on his fur not his feet… I had to pull and coerce him back onto the sidewalk.

I went to an area where parking is ‘pay and display’. I usually don’t carry cash around on me, so I wasn’t even sure how I was going to pay for parking. Luckily, I had a few quarters left in my car from the trip for toll roads. There was an option to only park for 15 minutes… since it was so hot, I figured Little-bit wouldn’t want to be out long. But then I started to wonder if I should have done 1/2 an hour since he walks so slow. Well, as it turns out, since I couldn’t even get near the water because the sand was so hot, we left after 15 minutes anyway.

It wasn’t a total loss, though, I learned my way around town a bit more and figured out how to get to the beach easier next time. I also learned how the parking works, at least in the ‘pay and display’ areas. And let’s not forget, I did get to see the ocean up close. Just not up close and personal… that’ll be next time. ;)

By the by, I don’t even own a bathing suit. I haven’t owned a bathing suit since…

1996…

I was much smaller then, but that’s not the complete reason… I had just recently taken microbiology… it changed the way I see things… I now see things as… um… gross. I know it’s not PC, but I cannot handle the thought of being in a pool/jacuzzi/public water area… not now, not after microbiology… there are things lurking in there. Sure, they use chlorine and other chemicals… but that doesn’t please me either. What can I say, I’m skeeved out by the thought of it. Besides, most people I’ve seen just lay around a pool, they don’t really use it. I was never confident enough about myself to enter an area where people were just laying around, presumably checking everyone else out. Oh, and have I mentioned that I’m not a very good swimmer? I’d say “I don’t know how”, but that’s not the complete truth, I can float on my back, and doggie paddle… when I was a kid, I wasn’t able to take lessons because of my ear infections… I wasn’t allowed to put my head under water… on the few occasions when I tried anyway, to do something like the American crawl… I’d end up drinking the pool because I didn’t really know what I was doing…that might be why I’m not thrilled about a pool too. :|

The ocean on the other hand, looked like it might be fun… people were out there surfing. And actually playing in the water. Maybe… just maybe… I’ll buy a bathing suit some time in the future. Until then, I’ll be content in my shorts, or jeans as the case may be. And if you really want to know, I remember my last bathing suit (from 14 years ago) quite well. I really liked it too. It was a cornflower blue bikini. :)

Even though we were only on foot for 15 minutes… I was actually driving around for some time, like an hour or more, I drove up the road, u-turned, drove back down it, contemplated my next move, then u-turned and drove back up again until I decided on an area to park at. So to make it up to the pup, since he was rather hot and a bit put out by the hot sand… I gave him this…

I love the size…

He loved it immediately… (I took several pictures… here are some of my favorites)…

I ended up taking it from him after 10-15 minutes… he had eaten one of the four sides (it’s edible and digestible), but I didn’t want him to eat it all in one sitting. He soon zonked out for hours, content. :)

Ok, now on to the food… I did take pictures of some of the good food I’ve eaten lately…

I picked up these cute little zucchini with the sole intention of making zucchini noodles… I think the zucchini were called ‘8-ball’. :mrgreen:

Of course, I had to make Averie’s delicious peanut sauce to pour over the noodles… (my minor mods: 2 Tbsp. soy sauce, 1/2 the amt of maple and agave, and orange juice instead of an orange… and I whisked it by hand)…

All mixed together, topped with peanuts and an additional dollop of peanut butter (not shown)…

Oh yeah! I found this awesome vegan cheesecake at Jimbo’s Naturally… I didn’t realize until I got home that it was also raw… :)

My personal favorite, waffles. This is a new-to-us flavor… it was great… I topped it with fresh strawberries, soy garden, and more maple syrup… delish…

And while I wrote this post, I had this… the teriyaki sauce is sweet and perfect… this was very good, indeed…

Question: Have you ever tried vegan cheesecake? I’ve always been intimidated… the idea of cheesecake being made with tofu just hasn’t sounded appealing to me… the cheesecake I bought, however, was made with cashews and walnuts (there’s no tofu at all)… I’ve played with making my own cashew milk, and I like it. This was a great surprise and a great treat. I will have to adventure out of my comfort zone more often… this was a great experiment. :)

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Ginormous…

  1. Gah, I still need to buy a spiralizer (and remember your post back in the spring and how gorg the zucchini looked!) Add that to my wish list with a huge food processor and mandolin.

    I didn’t even know they made vegan cheesecake, sounds funky but it caught my eye.

    • simplyshaka – I don’t use the spiralizer that much, but the few times I have, I’ve had fun making the food. Spirilized zucchini just works… and it’s tasty too. :)

      Yeah, vegan cheesecake sounds weird b/c you’re thinking isn’t it entirely cheese, now it’s entirely ‘fake’ cheese. But this raw version is more like cashew milk that has more body than ‘milk’… cashews do that for some reason. So cheesecake is kind of a misnomer, whatever you call it, it was a great treat. I will be getting it again. :)

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Cheesecake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

