I Call It ‘Italian Stir-fry’, But You Can Call It ‘Pasta Primavera’…

I bet you’ve been on the edge of your seat wondering what I was going to do with those grape tomatoes, huh?

Well I decided to make an Italian stir-fry of sorts… it’s probably closer to a pasta primavera, but the method I used to prepare it was more like a stir-fry. I gathered up veggies that I thought would go together and added seasonings that I thought would complement those veggies, then I served it over a grain. Just like I do when I make stir-fry.

So without further ado…

Italian Stir-fry
by nic – the auspicious squirrel
Rating: Very Good

    1 pkg. pasta, cooked according to box directions

      (I used wheat elbows b/c that’s what I had on hand)

    1 – 1 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
    5 scallions, sliced (white and light green parts)
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    salt & pepper, to taste
    1 tsp. Italian seasoning
    1 pint grape tomatoes, cut in half and slightly squeezed to remove seeds
    1 on-the-vine tomato, deseeded and diced
    1 zucchini, cut in half then sliced
    1 yellow squash, cut in half then sliced
    handful of fresh basil, sliced (chiffonade)

  1. Start cooking water for pasta. Add salt and pasta when water is boiling, cook according to box directions. Drain and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, cut and deseed tomatoes, set aside.
  3. Slice scallions and mince garlic. In a large skillet heat olive oil over med-high heat. Add scallions, garlic, pinch of salt & pepper, and 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. Saute for a minute or two.
  4. Add tomatoes, stir to combine, lower heat and let simmer.
  5. Slice zucchini and yellow squash, add to tomato mixture. Saute for another 5-8 minutes, until squash is crisp tender. Slice and add fresh basil.
  6. Check seasonings. At this point, I added another 1/2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and more salt & pepper.
  7. Add pasta to tomato mixture, a couple of spoonfuls at a time until all pasta is incorporated. I used a spatula and a spoon to stir and incorporate.
  8. Enjoy

Mmmmmm…. Yum…..

Enjoy!
~nic

3 thoughts on “I Call It ‘Italian Stir-fry’, But You Can Call It ‘Pasta Primavera’…

  1. Italian stir fry, love that idea and never thought of it. I get a lot of those ingredients at the farmers market so I will have to try a pasta like that. Which fresh produce, I normally stick with Mexican themed dishes such as tacos or salads or stir fry with ginger, garlic and pepper but have never thought to make it Italian style. I bet the scallions and basil would give it an additional nice flavor.

    • simplyshaka – It was really good, and the leftovers were good too. I only heated the leftovers enough to take the chill off, delicious. :)

      Sometimes I like to just let the vegetables do the talking and try not to over power it with creamy sauces and stuff.

  2. Pingback: Lost :( « Simply Shaka

Leave a Reply

