Grapefruit, Lemons, Oats, and Kuzu… but not at the same time…

It’s been a few days since I’ve felt up to running. I’ve been incredibly tired this week, so I’ve been listening to my body and only doing some restorative yoga. This morning, however, I felt up to running again. I only mention this because I wanted to give another shout-out to grapefruit.

Before my run, I prepared our lunches… for my two fruits, I gave myself an apple and I peeled a grapefruit just like I would for an orange. So upon returning from my run, I dug into my lunchbox and pulled out that wonderful grapefruit. It’s funny, at least it is to me, that the grapefruit was ‘sweet’ and perfect. Yet an hour prior I probably would have disagreed. It’s like physical exertion makes you have a natural miracle fruit for a tongue. Have you heard of miracle fruit? Apparently it makes sour things taste sweet. I joked that I probably could eat a lemon straight at that point. :D

Speaking of lemons… remember those meyer lemons? Well, on Produce Wednesday, me being the true dork that I am, decided to just try it straight. Why not? It is a cross between a lemon and a tangerine, so why not? Uh… because it is still a lemon! Gaaa… don’t try this at home.

Anyway, not such a great idea. But what is a great idea is making several desserts with my meyer lemons! Hey, I have 5 of them, so I’m going to try out several recipes. I asked my ‘taste-tester’ to rate the ones he wanted to try most of the ones I suggested. Here they are in the order of his preference:

  1. lemon macadamia cupcakes w/ lemon buttercream (vegan cupcakes take over the world, p.95)
  2. lemon bars (vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, p.141)
  3. blueberry lemon créme cupcakes (vegan cupcakes take over the world, p.135)
  4. meyer lemon and almond pudding (healthy green kitchen)
  5. blueberry muffins w/ lemon blackberry glaze (ani’s raw food desserts, p.161)

The first three seem right up my alley, which is why he liked those ideas best. The thought being, it’ll taste great if I already know how to prepare it. The third calls for lemon extract, which I don’t have, so it fell in preference, even though it sounds amazing. The pudding would be very new, I haven’t done much with chia seeds except put them on salads. We haven’t really gotten used to the weirdness that chia seeds get once wet in your mouth. And the fourth, ani’s recipe, calls for a dehydrator, which I don’t have, so it would be some work to get it to turn out right.

I’m stoked to make the cupcakes though! I’ll have to let you know how the meyer lemon bake-off turns out!

In other news…

All over the blog world people have been posting their oats with various nut butters. I usually stick to the classics; fruit (cranberries), sugar (maple & brown sugar), cinnamon, nuts (walnuts), ‘butter’ (soy garden), maybe ‘milk’ (silk). But after trying out making oats with vanilla almond mylk instead of water, I decided to venture out a bit more. So today as my *ahem* third breakfast, I made oats.

FYI:

  • 1st breakfast (pre-run) = 1/2 direct fuel bite and a banana.
  • 2nd breakfast (post-run) = 1 whole grapefruit plain.
  • 3rd breakfast (~1 hour later) = oats.

I made Irish oats with 1 cup silk, about 1/2 tsp. vanilla, pinch of salt, and 1/2 cup oats (cooked for 5 min). To the hot oats, once they were in my bowl, I added 1 spoonful of almond butter, 1 sliced banana, and about 1/8 cup walnuts. OMG, totally worth it. I loved how I didn’t need to add sugar, the banana and vanilla sweetened it just fine. The nut butter thickened it up and then there was the crunch of the walnuts. I can see why the blog world has gone NUTS for nut butter in their oats (pun intended). Not only did I consume lots of protein in my after run 3rd breakfast, but it was insanely good. Thanks blog world, you’ve inspired me once again! :)

So this post is totally random…

I also wanted to mention a really good soup I made yesterday. I took my cue from Katie and made a simple soup using kuzu (aka kudzu).

We’ve joked about how kudzu can eat a car, a house, what-have-you in no time flat because it grows so quickly. Which makes me wonder, once again, why we use gelatin when we have a very sustainable thickener in kudzu? Ah, debate another time, let’s just talk about the good food!

I made a soup very similar to Katie’s Kuzu Soup. I made a few changes:

  • my usual changes… using veggies I had on hand (1/2 head cauliflower, carrot w/ tops, potato, peas, onion, garlic), and using better than bouillon vegetable base and water as the broth.
  • I added a bay leaf as well.
  • My kuzu was in big clumps, so prior to putting it in water, I used a pestle and a saran wrapped cutting board to grind the clumps down into a powder. Then I took the saran full of powder and added it to the cold water. I probably only used about 1 Tbsp. when all was said and done, so perhaps I could have made my soup thicker, but I liked the results none the less.
  • Oh I also added about 1/2 Tbsp. dulse flakes and reduced the amount of salt I would have normally used.
  • Haha, don’t be alarmed… I used a huckleberry potato… it looks like cubes of ham, but NO, it’s a potato!
  • Just for the heck of it, I added about 1 tsp. meyer lemon juice… not really sure it made a big impact.
  • I used 1 carrot and the green tops from 2 carrots. Did you know that the greens will ‘keep’ if you leave a bit of carrot attached. It is a root, you know. ;)
  • I ended up using 4 cups water, plus 1/2 cup cold water for the kuzu (4 1/2 cups total), so mine made 4 servings.

Good soup! Thanks Katie!

Well, that was a pretty random post! Until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “Grapefruit, Lemons, Oats, and Kuzu… but not at the same time…

  1. Pingback: When Sunday Feels Like A Monday… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: truths i learned on my meyer lemon challenge… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Mousse & Spring Cleaning… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: Produce Wednesday & Spring Cleaning Accomplishments… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

