Produce Wednesday…

Today is Produce Wednesday! Gosh, it seems like it was only a week ago today that I had produce arrive at my door. ;) You may recall that during the week of Feb. 8, we received 3-ft of snow and my delivery was canceled. So, I special requested for it to come last week. This week is the regularly scheduled delivery. Clear as mud?

Without further ado, here’s today’s organic bounty:

    Huckleberry/Blue Potato mix
    Cauliflower
    Avocado
    Celery
    Cucumber
    Red Leaf Lettuce
    Meyer Lemons
    Royal Mandarins
    Fuji Apples
    Mango
    Bananas

Believe it or not, but that is only one head of lettuce! I love the colored potatoes, they should be fun, they will probably be roasted. The cauliflower currently has two recipe contenders, I will have to let you know which recipe I select. And finally, the elusive meyer lemons… I’ve heard tales of these lemons when I used to watch boatloads of Everyday Italian. Supposedly they are sweeter lemons. I didn’t expect to get five of them though, I’m not really sure what to do with them. Any suggestions are welcome! :) I plan to save the seeds, perhaps try to grow a meyer lemon tree.

In other news…

I’ve been taking it easy and playing it low-key. Needed some me time, ya know? Although, I did manage to take ‘little-bit’ to the vet for a check-up and do my taxes this week. So I guess, not really a lot of me time. But taking some timeout from the blogosphere, in any case. I also hope to re-organize my kitchen this week. The kitchen and some other things have managed to fall out of sync and have slowly been driving me crazy.

One thing that has kept me sane though, is that I’ve been continuing to make myself a lunchbox when I make one for my ‘taste-tester’. It’s been working out really great! I’ve been quartering and coring the apples/pears and pealing the oranges… it’s been real nice to have the fruit already prepped. I’m currently eating the last bit of my ‘lunch’, but here’s what was in the box…

What’s in the box?

I’ve thought of making the lunchbox a widget on the side of the blog, but it is just another thing to try to keep up to date, plus I’m not even sure if anyone even looks at my sidebar. :P Suffice it to say, that making myself a lunchbox has helped tremendously, you might try it. Thank you Katie & Averie for your recipes, they are yummy and repeat delights in our home! :)

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Produce Wednesday…

Leave a Reply

