Behind the Curtain…

I’ve been chilling out, literally (it’s been cold around here, yesterday’s windchill was 5°F) and figuratively, the past few days. It’s been a nice get away and birthday retreat.

But now I’m back and I have been working on my blog, behind the curtain. I’ve added an History page, it’s a link to every post I’ve ever posted. It will hopefully prove itself very valuable and useful for the Recipe page revamping I’m still working on. But I also hope that it will be helpful to you, dear reader, for finding a post that you are having trouble finding or to realize that you missed a post.

As Katie mentioned in a recent post, we bloggers put a lot of time and effort into our posts and the thought of your work being lost to obscurity is a worry (well it’s a worry of mine, anyway). The only kink is that I will have to maintain that page as well. I tried to find the code that is used in the sidebar for ‘recent posts’, but since I’m using wordpress.com not wordpress.org, I am unable to use code like that in my blog. So I had to do it the hard way, by hand. But I found a fairly easy way to do it, so it didn’t take me forever, but I know that the computer could have done it for me in seconds… sometimes having control of all aspects of your blog (hosting your own blog) is so tempting. It will probably be something I consider more in the future, but I’ve got my plate full for now. So I’ll have to settle for a little bit more work, no biggie.

Anyway, creating the History page has been a nice little trip down memory lane. Wow, my blog is 7 months old. Cool. :)

I’m going to keep working behind the scenes, hopefully I’ll get my new and improved Recipe page up soon.
~nic

Leave a Reply

