Blue Mashed Potatoes…

nicubunu_Weather_Symbols_RainSo it was 44°F and lightly raining outside when I awoke yesterday morning… the windchill was 39°F… I decided to do half the walk and a shorter yoga session. I think I actually worked out more yesterday than on the other days! In order to keep warm on the walk I was walking at a much brisker pace. Then the short yoga session was an intense one, full of sun salutations (read: pushups). I felt great though, just a bit tired. I think I will take a rest day today.

Let’s get to the food!…

I made mashed potatoes with about half of my blue potatoes and thought I’d share this very simple recipe. They tasted the same as regular potatoes, I might say they were creamier, but I might have imagined it. Anyway, they were fun!

Have you ever seen the inside of a raw blue potato? I hadn’t, I’ve seen blue potato chips, but I hadn’t seen them raw. It’s really cool!

raw blue potato

I don’t peel the potatoes, I just wash and scrub them really well. I also don’t discard the cooking water, after all, that’s were many of the nutrients end up. I use only enough water to not have the potatoes burn, but enough to cook the potatoes very soft, retaining the water as part of the liquid required to make them creamy… it’s a little trick I learned from my ‘taste-tester’s maternal grandmother. The potatoes are creamy but without so much milk and butter needing to be added.

I like my potatoes with a bit of onion and garlic and a hint of herbs, feel free to leave them out, or substitute them out for other flavor enhancers. My ‘recipe’ is about the method, not the ingredients. ;)

mashed potatoes - ingredients

Mashed Potatoes
by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Awesome, Favorite

Serves: 4

    1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
    1/2 onion, diced
    2-3 cloves garlic, minced
    1 1/2 lb potatoes (3-4 medium), cut into 1 inch pieces
    1 – 1 1/2 cups water
    pinch dried rosemary
    salt & pepper
    1 Tbsp. margarine (* I use earth balance)
    splash non-dairy milk (* I use silk)
  1. Heat olive oil in a 2 qt. pot over med-high heat, add onions, garlic and a pinch of salt. Reduce heat and simmer until onions start to look translucent.
  2. While onions are simmering, cut up potatoes. Adding a splash of water to the onions, if necessary, to keep onions from burning.
  3. Add potatoes and just enough water to come about half-way up the depth of the potatoes. Add rosemary, salt & pepper, and turn up the heat to medium. Cover and cook 10-15 minutes, checking on them periodically, stirring and making sure that the potatoes are not burning on the bottom.mashed potatoes - not too much water
  4. Once the potatoes start to look soft, but there still seems to be too much water, uncover and cook for about 5 more minutes, keeping the heat at medium and the boil at a rolling boil.mashed potatoes - cover off, rolling boil
  5. When you can start to mash the potatoes with the back of your spoon, start using a potato masher noticing that the pan is starting to seem dry.mashed potatoes - mashing and pan looking dry
  6. Add margarine and continue to mash. Add a splash of milk, mashing and stirring, until desired consistency. Taste and adjust seasonings. Remove from heat. Enjoy!
  7. mashed potatoes - mash in margarine and milk

mashed potatoes - with dinner

I like mashed potatoes with spaghetti, not sure why, but I always crave them together. Did I mention that we love olives? :)

Operation Exercise

    running-symbol

  • Nov 12 – 1.6 mile walk/jog (30 min)
    ** It was 45°F outside and lightly raining… I took a shorter route with less crosswalks than usual and didn’t linger to take any pictures (not that there was anything to take pictures of! :P )

  • yoga

  • Nov 12 – YogaToday Blog – Wake Up Your Spine – Sarah (20 min)
    ** This was intense… it is a quick workout with lots of sun salutations.
  • calvinandhobbes45

  • Nov 13 – Rest day

I love Calvin and Hobbs!
~nic

3 thoughts on “Blue Mashed Potatoes…

  1. Pingback: Apple-Pear-Cranberry Compote… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Produce Wednesday & Spring Cleaning Accomplishments… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Oktoberfest… Part 4… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

