Mushroom Noodle Soup…

mushroom noodles soup & delicata squash

You didn’t think I forgot about the mushroom soup did you?…

On Produce Wednesday I was feeling pretty creative, and I wanted to use those portobello mushrooms since they have such a short shelf life. I also had about 2 cups of that mushroom broth left that needed to be used up. I wanted to make a mushroom soup that had an Asian flare… here’s what I did…

Mushroom Noodle Soup
by nic – the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Very Good

Yeilds: 6-8 servings

    broth

    • 2 cups mushroom broth
    • 1 pkg dried mushrooms (* I used a stir fry blend: shiitake, woodear, paddy straw, & oyster mushrooms)
    • 2 bay leaves (*later discarded)
    • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme leaves
    • 1 Tbsp. white miso
    • 1 1/2 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base
    • 1 inch piece ginger, peeled (*later discarded)
    • 2 Tbsp. dulse, finely chopped
    • dash red pepper flakes
    • splash aji-marin
    • splash tamair
    • salt & pepper

    veggies

    • 1 onion, chopped
    • 3 cloves garlic, minced
    • 2 portobello mushrooms, chopped
    • 1 stalk celery, chopped
    • 1 carrot with tops, peeled & chopped
    • 1 small red pepper, chopped
    • up to 6 cups water
  • 1 pkg (8oz) quinoa spaghetti (* I used Ancient Harvest) **Feel free to use any long noodle of choice, I actually thought I had lo mein or udon noodles when I started, but had to improvise.**
  1. Bring mushroom broth to a boil, add dried mushrooms, simmer until mushrooms are re-hydrated. (* This is a good time to start chopping veggies)
  2. Once dried mushrooms are soft, you can fish them out to chop them into smaller bite-size pieces, then return to broth.
  3. Add rest of ‘broth’ ingredients, simmer.
  4. Meanwhile, chop ‘veggies’ and add to mushroom broth, adding water as needed to desired consistency, simmer.
  5. ** Here’s where I would deviate from my original experiment… I originally added the spaghetti to the broth, which then sucked up all the broth and I had to keep adding water to make it brothy, which in turn started to dilute my delicious broth… I mention later how I address leftovers… but I think the noodles should have been cooked on their own and then added to the soup to reduce this problem.** So, in a separate pot, cook pasta according to package directions, while the soup is still simmering in a separate pot.
  6. When pasta is done, and the vegetables are at the desired tenderness, combine. Taste broth and adjust seasonings. Remove ginger and bay leaves. Enjoy.

mushroom noodle soup

    leftovers

    If you chose to combine the pasta with the soup and cooked them together (like I did originally) and now you have a thick stew for leftovers… mushroom soup - stewy consistency

  • Combine water (or mushroom broth if you still have some) and splashes and dashes (sorry I don’t have good measurements to tell you) of other ‘broth’ items (*except dried mushrooms) in a microwave safe container.make new broth
  • Heat until steamy, about 3 minutes (stir every 1 minute).heated new broth
  • Ladle out desired amount of stewy mushroom soup. ladle out stewy soup
  • Then top with newly made broth to desired brothiness into a soup bowl, microwave to desired heat, about 1-2 minutes more. Enjoy.mushroom soup - leftovers
  • Personally, I kept the newly made broth separate when storing so that the noodles would not continue to soak up all the broth.

Oh, I had forgotten, I also roasted up that delicata squash, it only made the one plate you see in the picture (it was a small squash). I cut the squash in half, removed the seeds and roasted it cut-side down on parchment paper in a 400°F oven for 40 minutes, then cooled cut-side up. I then removed the skin, roughly chopped it, then added a pat of earth balance, a drizzle of maple syrup, a handful of chopped walnuts, and a dash of cinnamon. I then put it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt the earth balance. Yummy.

Operation Exercise

Hope you are having a great day!
~nic

One thought on “Mushroom Noodle Soup…

  1. Pingback: Way Better Than Fruit Cake!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

