Soup, Butternut Squash, and Bulgur…

It’s officially Autumn!!! Yea! I’ve been in the mood for soups, winter squashes, warm bread, and apples… ( the apples will have to be another post, as will the home-made bread )…

So I made an old favorite for soup, potato and leek soup, although I used an onion instead of the leek. I also roasted up a butternut squash, and while I was doing both of those things I also made a batch of bulgur… yum.

For the butternut squash, I was inspired by a recent post from Katie (Chocolate-Covered Katie) in which she made “Butter(nut) Me Up” Squash Fries. I did not have a fry cutter, so I cut up the butternut squash into cubes, then I sprinkled on some cinnamon and a dash of salt (I love that no oil was necessary), I roasted them on parchment paper in a shallow oven pan at 400°F for 50 minutes (originally 40 minutes and had let them cool, but then decided that I wanted them a bit more cooked and put them back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes)… here they are in all their glory…
roasted butternut squash

While the squash was roasting I started preparing the soup and the bulgur at the same time, I heated up a large dutch oven and a 2 quart pot both with a bit of olive oil, I added 3/4 of a chopped onion into the dutch oven and the rest of the onion into the smaller pot and a pinch of salt to each… while those were simmering, I chopped up about 5 cloves of garlic, 3 went to the dutch oven and 2 went to the smaller pot… allowed the onion to get a bit translucent, then added 2 cups of water to the small pot, a bit of better than bouillon vegetable base (~1/2 tsp), and 1 cup of bulgur… covered and brought to a boil, then lowered the heat, and let simmer for 20 minutes then turned off the heat… I left it covered and did not stir… until the soup was finished. Here’s the bulgur in all it’s glory…
bulgur

So I’ll put up the soup recipe in a little more proper format, but I personally have a soup method, which is not the method in the cookbook for this recipe, so I’ll post my method… this is what works for me. I tend to chop, then add, then chop the next ingredient, then add, and so on. This is an old favorite, I’ve made it a lot, so I tend to tweak it depending upon the ingredients I have on hand… that’s why I love soup, it’s so forgiving.

potato and leek (or onion) soup - ingredients

Potato and Leek (or Onion) Soup
slightly adapted from The New Enchanted Broccoli Forest by Mollie Katzen

Rating: Awesome, Old Favorite

    1 Tbsp. olive oil
    3 cups leeks, chopped ( I substituted a yellow onion )
    salt ( I did not measure, I add a pinch of salt with the onion, and then taste at the end )
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    1 carrot, peeled and chopped ( I used a handful of baby carrots, chopped)
    1 stalk celery, chopped ( optional, I did not have any on hand )
    3 potatoes, scrubbed and skin left on, cubed ( I usually use yukon gold, but this time I used russet )
    4 cups water
    1/2 Tbsp. better than bouillon, vegetable base
    freshly ground pepper
    dried thyme and marjoram ( I eyeballed it, about 1/2 – 1 tsp. of each)
    1 cup frozen peas ( newly inspired addition )
    1 cup non-dairy milk ( I used Silk soymilk )
    fresh basil, chiffonade
  1. Heat olive oil in a large pot over med-high heat, add onion and a pinch of salt. Simmer a few minutes then add garlic, simmer a few minutes more until onion starts to get translucent ( I am chopping the carrots while the onion is simmering )
  2. Chop then add, carrots, celery (if using), and potatoes.
  3. Add water, better than bouillon, black pepper, thyme, and marjoram, cover and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 30-40 minutes.
  4. potato and leek (or onion) soup - before blend

  5. Once potatoes are tender, check spices (taste and adjust), then remove some of the soup and use your blender or an immersion blender, blend until smooth, I like a few chunks of the vegetables throughout my soup, so I only blended about 3 cups.
  6. potato and leek (or onion) soup - blended

  7. Return blended soup back into the pot and bring to a boil.
  8. potato and leek (or onion) soup - returned to pot after blend

  9. Add peas, reduce heat, and cook a few minutes until bright green.
  10. potato and leek (or onion) soup - added peas

  11. Add non-dairy milk and heat through, remove from heat.
  12. potato and leek (or onion) soup - added non-dairy milk

  13. Ladle out into bowls, top with fresh basil.

Then I plated all the items together to make this lovely meal… potato and leek (or onion) soup, bulgur, and roasted butternut squashI served it with home-made bread, which I promise I will post soon, with a smear of earth balance. The sweetness and cinnamon-y-ness of the squash went well with the savoriness of the bulgur, I found myself putting both on my fork at once. The soup was awesome, the peas were a nice touch. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Soup, Butternut Squash, and Bulgur…

  1. Oh how ironic you made CCK’s butternut squash fries. Between her fries and Gena’s carrot fries, I went to the groc store today and picked up some root veggies. I’m high raw and it’s still so hot here, but all these roasted veggies have been lookin’ so good, so within the next few days, I’m jumpin on the roasted root veggie train!

  2. Pingback: Parsley, Rosemary, & Thyme… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Geese, Clouds, Salad, and Soup… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

