Maroon Carrots…

maroon carrots

Do you remember Produce Wednesday when I received a boat-load of maroon carrots? Betcha you’ve been wondering what I was going to do with them and how they tasted, right?

Turns out that maroon carrots, look just like regular carrots on the inside. Cool! :)
inside a maroon carrot

I peeled and steamed them for dinner last night…
steamed maroon carrots with green beans, mashed potatoes, and spaghetti

How do they taste? Same as regular carrots, good. :)

What other ways can I use these carrots? I have so many carrots! Well obviously I need to enter the Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Spiralizer Give-Away… I decided to make Katie’s 24-Carrot Cake Muffins. I chose not to peel the carrots this time, seemed a waste to loose all that color, the carrots are organic so I just rinsed the carrots really good.

I made a few changes to Katie’s recipe… I used maple syrup instead of stevia or sugar, so I omitted the water. Also I used 2 containers of apple sauce rather than just 1 2/3 containers. I made mine in a mini muffin pan, and I added raisins, walnuts, and coconut. Here’s my version of Katie’s recipe…

24-carrot muffin - ingredients

24-Carrot Cake Muffins
by Chocolate-Covered Katie
slightly adapted by the auspicious squirrel

Rating: Very Good

(Makes 24 mini muffins)

dry ingredients

    180 grams whole wheat pastry flour
    1 teaspoon Ener-G egg replacer
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    1 and 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

carrot

    100 grams shredded carrot (I used a food processor to shred my carrot)grated maroon carrots

wet ingredients

    2 containers applesauce (the 1/2-cup containers), or about 160 grams
    1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1/4 + 1/8 cup maple syrup

optional add-ins

    1/4 cup each raisins, walnuts, and coconut (I used raw, unsweetened)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly oil muffin pan.
  2. Mix dry ingredients.
  3. Add the carrot and wet ingredients, mix until just combined.
  4. Fill muffin pan with batter.
  5. 24-carrot muffins before bake

  6. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  7. 24-carrot muffins fresh from oven

  8. Cool in muffin pan 5 minutes, then remove from pan and continue to cool on a rack.

Stores up to two days, otherwise these can be put in the freezer.
24-carrot muffins cooling on rack

4 thoughts on “Maroon Carrots…

  1. No WAY are they a normal colour on the inside! Not going to lie – I am simultaneously astonished and disappointed! :) -E

    • Eve – Yeah, me too. Although, some carrots did have some maroon-ish veins when I sliced them, but overall, still characteristically orange and pretty much the same taste. When I left the skin on, of course, they were a little more earthy. :)

  2. Pingback: I get by with a little help from my friends « Chocolate-Covered Katie

Leave a Reply

