Birthday Weekend… Part I

It’s nice when your loved one’s birthday is on the weekend, because then you can go all out preparing yummy goodies for them. I started the birthday weekend out by making a blueberry coffee cake with peach coulis, a tofu scramble and espresso.

coffee cake and peach coulis ingredients
I used more blueberries than suggested for the coffee cake. For the coulis I used 3 peaches and 3 nectarines. The small nut-like item in the picture is nutmeg, which I grated a small amount using a microplane.

tofu scramble ingredients
I chose to make the Italian variation of katie’s mad scramble.

coffee cake, peach coulis, and tofu scramble
coffee cake, peach coulis, and tofu scramble

East Coast Coffee Cake – Blueberry VariationVegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Rating: Awesome. When I make this recipe again the one thing I will change is using earth balance instead of canola oil so that the topping can melt into the cake. :)

Peach CoulisVegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Rating: Awesome. We poured this over the coffee cake, yummy! We had enough left over for Sunday’s birthday breakfast… pancakes! (see Birthday Weekend… Part II)

Katie’s Mad Scramble – Chocolate-Covered Katie. Rating: Awesome. We really like this, I made it again on Sunday.

One thought on “Birthday Weekend… Part I

Leave a Reply

