Science is Fun! (cookies)

I can make it chocolatey-er! That was my original title for this post. But keeping with tradition, I found a cookie recipe that doesn’t use eggs or egg-replacer… therefore, it MUST be science! :P The ‘science’ this time? Peanut Butter! You read that right, the peanut butter replaces the egg in these cookies. When I made this recipe months ago, I ran around telling anyone who would listen about this recipe!

Well, I’ve found a way to make it even better! You may remember from my last post that one of the ‘new foods’ I had tried was a chocolate peanut butter from PB & Co., I wanted it more chocolatey… then it hit me, I can make it chocolatey-er!

*I also want to mention that unlike other recipes that you get from the chocolate chip bag, this recipe makes a reasonable amount of cookies. I mean seriously, who can resist eating 3 dozen cookies! Alternatively, how do you get 1/2 an egg? Luckily this recipe makes 18-24 cookies, depending upon whether or not you use chunky peanut butter, and you can double it or half it without worrying about what to do with 1/2 an egg!*

cookie ingredients

Chocolatey-er Vegan Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Nut Cookies
adapted from Sunspire Tropical Source Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips Bag

Rating: Awesome!

wet ingredients

  • 1/3 cup PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter (a.k.a choc.pb) ( or regular peanut butter (a.k.a. reg.pb) for less chocolatey goodness, I usually use a peanut butter that is only peanuts and salt)
  • 2 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 3/4 cup vegan sugar (there is sugar in the choc.pb… if using reg.pb use 1 cup sugar)
  • 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

*my way*

  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

dry ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup Sunspire Tropical Source Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
  2. Whisk together wet ingredients until very smooth.
  3. Add salt and baking soda to the liquid ingredients, stir to combine.
  4. *Let the baking cops get me!* As I stated in an earlier post, I like to put the leavening and salt into the liquid ingredients so that it mixes better, I’m tired of always getting a salty bit of cake or a salty cookie!

  5. Next add flour and oats, stir.
  6. Then add chocolate chips and nuts, stir to combine
  7. Drop batter by large spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet that has been oiled, lined with parchment paper, OR lined with a silicone sheet.
  8. before oven cookies

  9. Bake for 8 minutes, or until tops just begin to crack.
  10. Remove and let cool for 10 minutes BEFORE transferring to a wire rack.
  11. Makes 24 cookies.

fresh from oven cookies

One thought on “Science is Fun! (cookies)

  1. Pingback: Vegan MoFo: Survey… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

